Artist 101: 5 Seconds of Summer

Your go-to-guide for everything you need to know about the pop-punk Aussie band, 5 Seconds of Summer!

Who are the members?

Luke Hemmings, lead singer and rhythm guitarist.

Photo credits to Jonathan Hoeg.

Michael Clifford, lead guitarist and vocalist.

Artist 101: 5 Seconds of Summer 2
Photo credits to Ashley Royer (@singsongash on Twitter)

Calum Hood, bassist and vocalist.

Photo credits to Jonathan Hoeg.
Photo credits to Jonathan Hoeg.

Ashton Irwin, drummer and backing vocalist.

Artist 101: 5 Seconds of Summer 5
Photo credits to Jonathan Hoeg.

When are their birthdays?

Luke was born July 16, 1996.

Calum was born January 25, 1995.

Michael was born November 20, 1995.

Ashton was born July 7, 1994.

What is their most popular song?

5 Seconds of Summer’s most popular song is Amnesia, a ballad written by Good Charlotte’s Madden Brothers.

What else do I need to know about the band?

5 Seconds of Summer, also known as 5SOS (prounounced five-sauce), is an Australian pop-punk band that formed in late 2011. The four boys played their first show to 12 people at the Annandale Hotel in Sydney on December 3rd of that year. Ashton, at the time, was not in the band and was only joining them for that show– or so he thought. During that show, Calum Hood got down on one knee and asked Ashton to officially join the band.

Since then they have released seven EPs and three albums as of 2016, including a live album titled LiveSOS. One of their albums, Sounds Good Feels Good, talks about serious issues like depression and anxiety, among other topics that are important to the band members. Luke, Calum, Ashton, and Michael have made it clear that he message their band wants to get across is that “it’s okay not to be okay,” as Ashton says.

What is 5SOS’ social media?

Band: Twitter | Instagram | YouTube | Tumblr | Snapchat | Facebook | Official Website

Calum Hood: Twitter | Instagram

Ashton Irwin: Twitter | Instagram

Luke Hemmings: Twitter | Instagram

Michael Clifford: Twitter | Instagram

Written by CelebMix