Azerbaijan Has Announced Dihaj As It’s Eurovision 2017 Representative

The fifth act for the Eurovision Song Contest 2017 has been announced. Dihaj was chosen through internal selection to represent Azerbaijan.

She was chosen by Azerbaijan broadcaster Ictimai Television (ITV), this is the third time in a row that the broadcaster has chosen to choose the act through internal selection; following from 2015’s Elnur Hüseynov and 2016’s Samra.

Azerbaijan is one of the newest countries to become a part of the Eurovision Song Contest, making their debut in 2008. They have won the contest once in 2011, and therefore hosting it the following year.

Dihaj follows from Samra’s entry in 2015 with “Miracle”, which placed Azerbaijan 17th in the contest with 141 points.

Her real name is Diana Hajiyeva; she has already attempted to represent Azerbaijan at Eurovision. Back in 2011, she took part in the national selection titled Milli Seçim Turu 2010 where she placed fourth in her heat.

She has previously released a few songs as part of a trio under the same name. These songs are quite experimental, and this might be what secures Azerbaijan their second win.

Listen to “I Break Again” by Dihaj here:

She’s the fifth act to have been announced for this 2017 contest after Cyprus’ Hovig, the Netherlands’ O’G3NE, Belgium’s Blanche, and Macedonia’s Jana Burceska.

What do you make of the acts that have been announced so far? We want your thoughts, Tweet us @CelebMix.

Written by Jonathan Currinn

Writer, blogger, author, and journalist. Graduated from Staffordshire University in 2015. I write under the name Critic Jonni, on my blog. I also write for Fuzzable. In the past, I have written for the Daily Star, Channillo, Outlet Magazine, SPECTRUMM, Fox & Squirrel Photography, Modern Magazine, and Electric Mode. Follow me on all socials under the handle: @CriticJonni. Email me at jonathancurrinn@gmail.com also, if you want, you can buy me a virtual coffee: https://ko-fi.com/jonathancurrinn