A Year in Review: Kacey Musgraves

Oh, What a Year Kacey Musgraves has had in 2018

https://www.instagram.com/p/Bdiwg80FExB/

The past twelve months for Musgraves really have been the best twelve months any singer-songwriter could possibly have. Here at CelebMix, we’re going to look back on those twelves months and re-cap Kacey Musgraves’ 2018 – A Year in Review:

February 2018: The ‘Golden Hour’ era begins

In February 2018, Kacey Musgraves began the ‘Golden Hour’ era with a simultaneous release of the singles, ‘Butterflies’ and ‘Space Cowboy’, both of which were released as instant grat singles when you pre-ordered the album. At the same time, Musgraves also unveiled the album’s artwork, track and release date (30th March).

March 2018: It’s Golden Hour, baby!

As Spring sprung, March became a joyous month for Kacey Musgraves fans as they knew they will have ‘Golden Hour’ by the end of it. With it being album month, Musgraves had all the press-related business to do as a part of the album’s promotion. This included a live TV debut performance of ‘Space Cowboy’ on The Tonight Show starring Jimmy Fallon as well as a gig at London’s O2 arena. It was also the month her signature disco track, ‘High Horse’ was premiered on 22nd March 2018 via Beats1 with Zane Lowe.

View this post on Instagram

photo: @catherinepowell

A post shared by K A C E Y M U S G R A V E S (@spaceykacey) on

https://www.instagram.com/p/Bg7w8alnUJg/



April 2018: Golden Hour burns bright!

With ‘Golden Hour’ burning bright, Kacey Musgraves was all every music fan and critic could talk about. That being said, ‘Golden Hour’ managed to atop both US & UK Country Albums chart throughout April 2018. Musgraves also announced that she will be guest performing on the May 12th episode of SNL.

https://www.instagram.com/p/BhkmtUUngtJ/
https://twitter.com/KaceyMusgraves/status/986668475329449990

May 2018: SNL goes Yee-haw!

With May blossoming, “Golden Hour’ had been out just over a month and it was seen as an early contender for album of 2018, something which later on in the year became apparent. It was time for Kacey Musgraves to perform for one of the biggest TV gigs of her career, Saturday Night Live. The SNL audience were treated to a performance of ‘Slow Burn’ alongside the disco-infused ‘High Horse’. Throughout May, Musgraves also had an album signing in Tokyo, Japan.

June 2018: ‘Golden Hour’ goes on tour!

As we slipped into summer, Kacey Musgraves supported Harry Styles on his 2018 Live on Tour throughout US dates in June and July 2018. This would be the first taste of what to expect from her ‘Oh, What a World’ tour commencing later on in the year and into 2019. Musgraves also stopped by US Chat Show, Late Night with Seth Meyers to perform the closing track on ‘Golden Hour’, ‘Rainbow’. Her debut album, ‘Same Trailer Different Park’, which was released in 2013, also went platinum in the US.

https://www.instagram.com/p/Bj-xioSHPdb/

July 2018: Why don’t you giddy up, giddy up?

In the midst of summer, Kacey Musgraves embarked on tour with Harry Styles for another fortnight. The fan-favourite track, ‘High Horse’ was officially released as a single with an accompanying music video. The ‘Oh, What a World’ tour was announced with European dates throughout October 2018 from Oslo, Norway all the way to Dublin, Ireland. Another TV gig included a spot on The Late Late Show with James Corden performing the title track, ‘Golden Hour’.

https://www.instagram.com/p/BlRCq0fn3Vr/

August 2018: Birthday week, Elvis week – Oh, What a Week!

As summer started to sizzle out, there were quite a few special weeks for Kacey Musgraves. First off, we had Elvis Week, an entire week dedicated to the king of Rock ‘n’ Roll – Elvis Presley. Commencing from 14th August 2018, Musgraves shared a performance of her Presley-dedicated track from Golden Hour, ‘Velvet Elvis’. Our own little yeehaw queen turned 30 too!

September 2018: Musgraves stops by The Ellen Show before travelling around ‘Oh, What a World’

As Kacey Musgraves prepared for the ‘Oh, What a World’ tour in the following month, she stopped by at The Ellen Show yet again to perform one of the tracks which started the Golden Hour era, ‘Space Cowboy’. The following month she would finally be interviewed by the chat show host as well as perform – again.

October 2018: ‘Oh, What a World’ it is in Europe

As we mentioned before, Kacey Musgraves was set to embark on her ‘Oh, What a World’ tour throughout Europe in October 2018. Before that, she was interviewed on The Ellen Show and performed the track, ‘Happy & Sad’. From Oslo, Norway to Dublin, Ireland; the ‘Oh, What a World’ tour had begun it’s very own ‘Golden Hour’.

View this post on Instagram

AMSTER•DAMN ? #owawtour

A post shared by K A C E Y M U S G R A V E S (@spaceykacey) on

November 2018: Golden Hour is awarded

As the year-end was nearing, award season commenced and almost imminently, Kacey Musgraves won big at the CMA Awards in Nashville with the ‘Album of The Year’ award. Musgraves was also nominated for Female Vocalist of the year and performed ‘Slow Burn’ at the ceremony. It was also announced she would appear on RuPaul’s Drag Race All Stars 4 as a guest judge.

https://www.instagram.com/p/BqN6tTTHyc_/

December 2018: Grammy nom after Grammy nom, Have A Very Kacey Christmas

December was here before we knew it and it would be the third Christmas where fans would have Kacey Musgraves’ holiday album, ‘A Very Kacey Christmas’ to enjoy throughout the festive season. However, within the first of week of December, the 61st Annual Grammy Award Nominations were announced, arguably the most prestigious award you could win as someone in the music industry. This is something Musgraves has already been awarded for on her previous work but what made this time around so special was the number of times she had been nominated – 4 in total.

  • Album of the Year – ‘Golden Hour’
  • Best Country Album – ‘Golden Hour’
  • Best Country Solo Performance – ‘Butterflies’
  • Best Country Song – ‘Space Cowboy’
https://www.instagram.com/p/BrGUqZNnNjD/
https://www.instagram.com/p/BrnTuc6nFjf/

That leaves us one thing to ask, What Did You Do New Year’s Eve?

It’s been quite the year for Kacey Musgraves with her third studio album, ‘Golden Hour’ being one of, if not, the critically acclaimed album of 2018. It has made most year-end lists and even made it to the top of a few lists. Though, the cherry on top of all these accolades for Musgraves has to be winning Apple Music’s Album of The Year 2018, beating out the likes of Drake’s ‘Scorpion’ and Ariana Grande’s ‘Sweetner’.

We can’t wait to see how 2019 pans out for Musgraves, hopefully beginning with four Grammy Awards and at a push, maybe even another album? For now, we’ll sign it off with a big yee-haw.

Happy New Year to all our readers!

Listen to Kacey Musgraves critically-acclaimed 2018 album, ‘Golden Hour’ below:

What do you think of Kacey Musgraves and her 2018? What is your favourite moment of 2018? Let us know on Facebook and Twitter @CelebMix

Written by Dominic Beck

My name is Dominic Beck and I am an aspiring music industry journalist/writer from Manchester, UK. My first step into journalism started in April 2017 when I published my own website. Since then I have been constantly writing which eventually lead me to working for CelebMix. I look forward to working with CelebMix and all the opportunities it has to offer.

Please don't be shy if you want to get in touch with me on any of my social medias:

Twitter: @irldom
Instagram: @irldom
Spotify: @dcminic

I also have a business e-mail if you'd like to get in touch with me regarding any enquiries towards my work: [email protected]