ALBUM REVIEW: Alison Krauss’ ‘Windy City’

It has been 17 years since country music legend Alison Krauss last released a solo album but this March will see the multi Grammy Award winner make her long awaited return with covers LP ‘Windy City’.

The new album is a collection of 10 classic hits and every single song is performed beautifully by Alison. Although the songs are mainly about heartache you will find yourself drifting away and forgetting your troubles for an hour as Krauss’ sublime vocals transport you to another world.

The standout tracks on the LP are; ‘Losing You’, ‘It’s Goodbye And So Long To You’, ‘I Never Cared For You’, and ‘Poison Love’. All of which are a fusion of Dolly Parton, Disney Soundtrack, and Line-Dancing vibes.

Alison Krauss’ vocals are sounding better than ever and are strong and clear, and she does justice to these classic songs.

With 27 Grammys to her name already-more than any other female artist- a 28th might be coming her way in 2018.

RATING: 4/5.

The full tracklist for ‘Windy City’ is as follows: 

Losing You
It’s Goodbye And So Long To You
Windy City
I Never Cared For You
River In The Rain
Dream Of Me
Gentle On My Mind
 All Alone Am I
Poison Love
You Don’t Know Me

Alison Krauss’ new album ‘Windy City‘ will be released on the 3rd of March and is available to pre-order right now.

Are you excited to hear Alison Krauss’ new covers LP ‘Windy City’ for yourself when it is released next month? Which song(s) are you most looking forward to? Let us know your thoughts over on Twitter @CelebMix.

Written by Laura Klonowski

Qualified music journalist! Writing single/album/live reviews, feature articles, interviews, and news pieces.
Twitter: @cherylssoldier1
Instagram: @musicandtournews