Undated handout photo issued by the National Television Awards of former X Factor host Dermot O'Leary who says it is "nice to be missed" - but he is trying not to wish failure on his successors. PRESS ASSOCIATION Photo. Issue date: Sunday January 10, 2016. Long-time presenter O'Leary quit in March before the 2015 series began, and was replaced by co-hosts Caroline Flack and Olly Murs. See PA story SHOWBIZ OLeary. Photo credit should read: National Television Awards/Indigo Productions/PA Wire NOTE TO EDITORS: This handout photo may only be used in for editorial reporting purposes for the contemporaneous illustration of events, things or the people in the image or facts mentioned in the caption. Reuse of the picture may require further permission from the copyright holder.

Everything you need to know about NTA’s 2016!

The NTA’s – or The National Television Awards – celebrated it’s 21st Birthday in style last night, with it’s annual award ceremony taking place live in the o2 arena, presented once more by Dermot O’Leary!

The show started with a performance from Gloria Gaynor and Revelation Avenue, who found fame on Britain’s Got Talent, with further performances from Fleur East with her new single, and saw some of our favourite TV personalities take home awards.

To absolutely nobodies surprise Ant and Dec took home the Best Entertainment Presenter award for the 15th year in the row, and Strictly Come Dancing took home the final award of the night for Best Talent Show.

The recently concluded Downton Abbey beat the likes of Casualty, Broadchurch and Doctor Who to take home Best Drama, and The Great British Bake Off saw off competition from The Apprentice, Masterchef and Bear Grylls: Mission survive to be crowned Best Challenge Show.

Eastenders was crowned Best Serial Drama, and Peter Kay’s Car Share took home the award for Best Comedy.

Doctor Foster was crowned best new Drama, and the shows star Suranne Jones was awarded The Best Drama Performance, after announcing news of her pregnancy on the NTA red carpet, and announcing that a second series of Doctor Foster would start filming in September!

Gogglebox won the award for Factual Entertainment, and This Morning took home the gong for Live Magazine Show. Other winners were pop star Shane Wards (Best Newcomer),  Danny Dyer (Serial Drama performance) and Aidan Turner (The TV Impact Award).

I’m A Celebrity Get Me Out Of Here won the award for Best Entertainment show, and The Chase for Best Daytime, whilst the gong for Best International Program was awarded to The Big Bang Theory.

This years Special Recognition Award, presented by Hollywood superstar Dustin Hoffman, was awarded to actor and comedian Billy Connolly, in honour of a career that has spanned 50 years.


Written by CelebMix