Avril Lavigne Enlists We The Kings For New Version Of “Head Above Water”

Avril Lavigne dropped new music last Friday, only it was a new version of her incredible first single from her latest album, “Head Above Water“. This new version features We The Kings, which was released as an album track on the Japanese version of the said album Head Above Water. This song follows up Avril Lavigne’s single “I Fell In Love With The Devil“, and We The Kings’ Christmas album from last year Seasons Greetings From The Sandbar.

We never thought we’d get an official release of this song, as Japanese album tracks tend to stay solely in Japan – there have been many artists who have done just that. This collaboration isn’t a surprise though, as the song itself was written by Avril Lavigne and the frontman of We The Kings – Travis Clark, as well as the producer of the song, Stephan Moccio.

This new version is pretty similar only there are some incredible harmonies with Travis Clark from We The Kings, bringing a rockier edge to the song which is certainly taking us back to the likes of some of her tracks from her first and second albums such as “Losing Grip”, “Nobody’s Home”, and “My Happy Ending”.

If anything, this version strengthens the whole message of the song, even more so. Travis Clark works his vocals perfectly only adding subtle harmonies that allow Avril Lavigne to shine all the way through. We simply adore both versions and we’re so grateful that she released this version internationally.

Listen To Avril Lavigne’s “Head Above Water” Featuring We The Kings Here:

“Head Above Water” featuring We The Kings is available to download and stream right now, via Avril Lavigne Music & Entertainment under exclusive licence to BMG Rights Management.

The Canadian superstar is set to go out on her North America tour, titled Head Above Water Tour, this month. It consists of 15 concerts with 14 taking place in the US and one taking place in Canada. Buy tickets now, while you still can, as fans are beyond excited to see her live as this is her first official tour since 2014. One dollar from each ticket sold will go to the Avril Lavigne Foundation which supports people with Lyme Disease.

Head Above Water Tour Dates:

  • September 14 – Paramount Theatre, Seattle, WA
  • September 15 – Keller Auditorium, Portland, OR
  • September 17 – Fox Theater, Oakland, CA
  • September 18 – The Greek Theatre, Los Angeles, CA
  • September 21 – Paramount Theatre, Denver, CO
  • September 24 – State Theatre, Minneapolis, MN
  • September 26 – Chicago Theatre, Chicago, IL
  • September 28 – Fox Theatre, Detroit, MI
  • October 01 – Pier 17 at South Street Seaport, New York, NY
  • October 03 – Orpheum Theatre, Boston, MA
  • October 05 – Oakdale Theatre, Wallingford, CT
  • October 06 – Sony Centre for Performing Arts, Toronto, ON
  • October 08 – Roxian Theatre, Pittsburgh, PA
  • October 09 – MGM National Harbor, Washington, D.C.
  • October 11 – XCite Center at Parx Casino, Philadelphia, PA

What do you make of Avril Lavigne’s new version of “Head Above Water” featuring We The Kings? Let us know on Twitter @CelebMix.

Written by Jonathan Currinn

Writer, blogger, author, and journalist. Graduated from Staffordshire University in 2015. I write under the name Critic Jonni, on my blog. I also write for Fuzzable. In the past, I have written for the Daily Star, Channillo, Outlet Magazine, SPECTRUMM, Fox & Squirrel Photography, Modern Magazine, and Electric Mode. Follow me on all socials under the handle: @CriticJonni. Email me at jonathancurrinn@gmail.com also, if you want, you can buy me a virtual coffee: https://ko-fi.com/jonathancurrinn