Beyoncé Unveils Tracklisting for ‘The Lion King: The Gift’

Beyoncé has finally unveiled the tracklist for her upcoming album titled “The Lion King: The Gift”, which is inspired by the upcoming remake of the Disney movie, ‘The Lion King’, and we must say, we are surprised and impressed by the list of performers on this album!

Not only does Beyoncé lend her voice to the upcoming live-action remake of Disney’s ‘The Lion King’ as Nala, but she has also curated an entire additional album with music exclusively inspired by the movie.

Yesterday, on July 16, the 37-year-old singer-songwriter, announced the tracklisting of her latest musical creation: ‘The Lion King: The Gift’, an album curated and produced by the singer herself. The combinations and collaborations look massive, unexpected, and exciting. ‘The Lion King: The Gift’ features a plethora of global mega artists, such as Jay-Z, Kendrick Lamar, Childish Gambino, Pharrell, as well as Beyoncé’s daughter, Blue Ivy Carter. The LP will also feature African artists such as Burna Boy, Wiz Kid, Tiwa Savage and many more.

In a previous interview with ABC News, Beyoncé talked about the album stating,

“This soundtrack is a love letter to Africa and I wanted to make sure we found the best talent from Africa, and not just use some of the sounds and did my interpretation of it. I wanted it to be authentic to what is beautiful about the music in Africa.”

Image: Beyonce for The Lion King

This album is going to release on July 19, i.e, the same day ‘The Lion King’ his theatres, which is good as we will be able to experience two different versions – digital recreation in the movie and ‘sonic cinema’ by Beyoncé. ‘The Lion King: The Gift’ is more than just an album. It brings along a vast array of major American and African artists for what looks to be an amazing yet authentic mix of music. In addition to Beyoncé, you’ll find American artists like Jay-Z, Kendrick Lamar, Pharrell, Childish Gambino, Tierra Whack, 070 Shake, and more. For African artist representation, there’s WizKid, Burna Boy, Salatiel, Tiwa Savage, Yemi Alade, Moonchild Sanelly, and more.

The singer expressed about the album saying,

“It is a mixture of genres and collaboration that isn’t one sound. It is influenced by everything from R&B, pop, hip hop, and Afro Beat. I wanted to put everyone on their own journey to link the storyline. Each song was written to reflect the film’s storytelling that gives the listener a chance to imagine their own imagery while listening to a new contemporary interpretation. It was important that the music was not only performed by the most interesting and talented artists but also produced by the best African producers. Authenticity and heart were important to me.”

Beyoncé released her first single “Spirit” earlier this month that’ll appear on ‘The Lion King: The Gift’ as well as on the official soundtrack to the film which came out on July 11 along with the artists like Elton John, Donald Glover, Billy Eichner, Seth Rogen and many more. If “Spirit,” is the indication of the how the rest of the album is going to sound, then we are sure that it’s going to be incredible and we absolutely can’t wait for the official release!

Check out the full tracklist ahead!

The Lion King: The Gift Tracklist:
01. Beyoncé – Bigger
02. Beyoncé – Find Your Way Back (Circle of Life)
03. Tekno, Yemi Alade, and Mr. Eazi – Don’t Be Jealous of Me
04. Burna Boy – Ja Ara E
05. Beyoncé, JAY-Z, and Childish Gambino – Mood 4 Eva
06. Salatiel and Pharrell – Water
07. Blue Ivy Carter, St. JHN, WizKid, and Beyoncé – Brown Skin Girl
08. Tiwa Savage and Mr. Eazi – Keys to the Kingdom
09. Beyoncé – Otherside
10. Beyoncé, Shatta, and Wale – Already
11. Tierra Whack, Beyoncé, Busiswa, Yemi Alade, and Moonchild Sanelly – My Power
12. 070 Shake and Jessie Reyez – Soar
13. Beyoncé – Spirit

Tweet to us your thought about this forthcoming album by Beyoncé on Twitter at @celebmix

Written by Khushboo Malhotra

I was born a dreamer | Onwards and upwards | Have a story or tip? Reach out: