calum scott

Calum Scott releases new single ‘No Matter What’, announces ‘Only Human’ (Special Edition)

Singer-songwriter Calum Scott is back with his most honest single yet, ‘No Matter What’, taken from the forthcoming special edition of his debut album Only Human.

‘No Matter What’ is a stunning piano ballad which tells the tale of Calum coming out to his parents. Whilst he didn’t receive the support he needed from his friends, his turned to his mother, and later his father, who reminded him that they love him “no matter what”, and that they want him to always be happy and true to himself.

Calum’s lyrics throughout the track are raw and extremely personal. It’s clear that he didn’t have the easiest of journeys growing up, however, as he got older he found the strength to hold his head high. The heartwarming piano melody, the powerful use of strings from the second verse onwards, and Calum’s striking vocals add to the pure emotion of the song, creating a truly tear-jerking offering.

Speaking about the track, Calum said: “No Matter What” is without question the most personal song I have ever written and the one I am most proud of. It’s a song born from loneliness, acceptance and the heart-breaking but liberating tale of my coming out experience. What I love about this song is that it isn’t just limited to a story of sexual identity, but about the relationship between parent and child and acceptance as a whole.”

“This song didn’t make my debut album because I simply wasn’t ready at that time to give it to the world.  It felt too personal to share, but as with all of my song-writing,  I’ve written this from the heart to try and inspire confidence and compassion in people and put some love back in to the world, which we could always use more of.”

Listen to ‘No Matter What’ below.

‘No Matter What’ is one of four new songs which will appear on the special edition of Only Human, due for release on November 30. The other new songs include ‘Need To Know’, ‘Sore Eyes’, and a one mic one take version of ‘White Christmas’ live from Abbey Road Studios.

Calum originally released Only Human back in March. The album hit number one on iTunes in over 20 countries, selling over one million in adjusted album sales and becoming the biggest selling debut album by a British male this year. Only Human includes his BRIT nominated, global sensation version of Robyn’s ‘Dancing On My Own’ and ‘You Are The Reason’, which was also released as a duet with Leona Lewis.


  1. If Our Love Is Wrong
  2. Give Me Something
  3. Rhythm Inside
  4. You Are The Reason
  5. Come Back home
  6. Stop Myself (Only Human)
  7. Dancing On My Own
  8. Only You
  9. Won’t Let You Down
  10. What I Miss Most
  11. Hotel Room
  12. Good To You
  13. Not Dark Yet
  14. Dancing On My Own (Tiesto Remix)
  1. Need To Know
  2. No Matter What
  3. Sore Eyes
  4. White Christmas (1 Mic 1 Take/Live From Abbey Road Studios)

Only Human (Special Edition) is available to pre-order now.

Fan of Calum Scott? Let us know your thoughts on his new single and album news on Twitter @CelebMix

Written by Katrina Rees

I'm Katrina, or Kat to pretty much everyone. I'm an editor for CelebMix, a content writer, a boyband lover and an all round music fanatic.
Twitter: @lifeofkatrina