the chainsmokers setting fires

The Chainsmokers release Collage EP, including new song ‘Setting Fires’

The Chainsmokers are currently sitting pretty at the top of the Billboard Hot 100 with their global smash hit ‘Closer’, featuring Halsey. However, today they have released an EP, combining their current triumph, with a brand new track.

The Collage EP is a five-track offering, which includes songs previously released by the duo, Alex Pall and Drew Taggart, this year. Speaking about the EP, Pall told BBC, “The idea is that we got a lot of new fans with Closer and, by creating an EP, it will hopefully introduce them to our older work.”

As well as previously released tracks, we are also treated to a brand new offering, ‘Setting Fires’ featuring XYLØ.

The EP is made up of

  1. ‘Setting Fires’ featuring XYLØ
  2. ‘All We Know’ featuring Phoebe Ryan
  3. ‘Closer’ featuring Halsey
  4. ‘Inside Out’ featuring Charlee
  5. ‘Don’t Let Me Down’ featuring Daya

Whilst The Chainsmokers’ Taggart has been on vocal duty recently, XYLØ take over the vocals on ‘Setting Fires’. It’s a sultry offering with a hypnotic beat. The chorus itself is catchy, with “I can’t go on setting fires to keep you warm” being repeated.

The Chainsmokers’ last effort, ‘All We Know’, was overshadowed by ‘Closer’, however, we think that ‘Setting Fires’ has the potential to be a big success for the duo. Since bursting their way onto the music scene in 2014 with ‘novelty’ track ‘#SELFIE’, Pall and Taggart have become hot property and gained success across the globe.

Whilst we’re unlikely to get an album any time soon, we’ll just keep playing their new EP on repeat.

Take a listen to the full Collage EP below.

What do you think of ‘Setting Fires’? Will it be another global hit for The Chainsmokers? Let us know on Twitter @CelebMix

Written by Katrina Rees

I'm Katrina, or Kat to pretty much everyone. I'm an editor for CelebMix, a content writer, a boyband lover and an all round music fanatic.
Twitter: @lifeofkatrina