Denmark Reveals Contestants for The Annual Eurovision Selection

We’re getting closer and closer to the biggest party of the year; Eurovision. Multiple countries have already revealed their acts for this year’s music event, while others are still in the selection process. Today, Denmark revealed the 10 contestants who are performing at the Melodi Grand Prix show, which is the Danish selection of their representative.

Facts about the finalists:

Ida Una – One
Lyrics and music: Peter Bjørnskov and Lene Dissing 

19-year-old Ida Una was contacted by the songwriting duo Peter Bjørnskov and Lene Dissing after uploading cover songs on her YouTube channel. ” ‘One’ is about the fact that we must take care of each other and the planet we’re living on,” she says. “We must become better to stand together and support each other, both in terms of family and friends, but also on a wider scale.”

Thomas Ring – Vesterbro
Lyrics and music: Thomas Ring 

36-year-old Thomas Ring won the third season of X Factor in Denmark in 2010. The singer/songwriter will be releasing his third studio album ‘Gadedreng’ the week prior to the Melodi Grand Prix show. “The song (‘Vesterbro’) was written after a night out right after I got out of a relationship,” he says.

Rikke Skytte – Color My World
Lyrics and music: Mads Løkkegaard, Joël Pagiël MacDonald, Mohamed Alitou, and Laura Kloos 

18-year-old Rikke Skytte is relatively unknown on the Danish music stage. However, she is planning on changing that with her entry. The young singer describes her song ‘Color My World’ as a pop song with a touch of indie.

Anja – Where I Am
Lyrics and music: Anja Nissen, Angel Tupai and Michael D’Arcy 

Last year, Anja Nissen was seven percent points away from being the Danish representative at the Eurovision. However, the 21-year-old Danish/Australian singer is planning to take the crown this year. In 2014 she won The Voice Australia where she was mentored by This year she is singing ‘Where I Am’ which she considers a “powerful and dynamic anthem. It is very personal.”

Calling Mercury – Big Little Lies
Lyrics and music: Thomas Sardorf, Rune Braager and Martin Luke Brown 

Calling Mercury consists of Jeppe Norup and Joel Peters. The duo has posted several songs on both YouTube and Soundcloud. However, they have only sung publicly together once. “We are really proud and pleased to be allowed to participate in Melodi Grand Prix, and it will be a great experience for us to perform for so many people,” Joel says.

Anthony – Smoke In My Eyes
Lyrics and music: Kim Nowak-Zorde, Kasper Larsen, Hans Petersen, Ollie Marland and Phil Plested 

In 2014, Anthony Lopez made Danish X Factor history when he and his musical partner Jasmin became the first group to win the show. Six months later the duo split despite big success. “‘Smoke In My Eyes’ is about a guy who is in love with this girl that makes him a little crazy. He doesn’t really know how to interpret her signals,” the 22-year-old says. The song is written by a team of hitmakers – most noticeable are Kim Nowak-Zorde, who wrote Denmark’s Eurovision entry ‘Cliche Love Song’ from 2014, and Phil Plested, who is behind Little Mix’s huge hit ‘Touch’.

René Machon – Warriors
Lyrics and music: Astrid Cordes, Alexander Grandjean, Hans Petersen and Lars Andersen 

42-year-old René Machon is no stranger to the Eurovision selection. In 2015, he was a part of a duo, who performed ‘Mi Amore’. Unfortunately, they only reached seventh place and were therefore not chosen to be Denmark’s representative. This year he’s coming back by himself with his song ‘Warriors’. “‘Warriors’ is a powerful love song that is about fighting for your relationship and for the person you love,” he says.

Sada Vidoo – Northern Lights
Lyrics and music: Christoffer Lauridsen, Andreas Öhrn and Alessandra Günthardt 

You may remember Sada Vidoo from last year’s British X Factor. The singing doll made a great impression on the four judges at her audition. She was also invited back for the finale to perform with some of the other former contestants. Her song ‘Norhtern Lights’ is a mix between classic Eurovision and dubstep. “No matter where we are in the world, we look up at the same stars and see the northern lights. We see the same thing. We are united,” she says about her song.

Jeanette Bonde – Hurricane
Lyrics and music: Jeanette Bonde, Alexander Grandjean, Jeppe Pilgaard Ulrichsen and Nermin Harambasic 

30-year-old Jeanette Bonde is used to singing backup for big Danish artists, but with her entry to this year’s Melodi Grand Prix, everyone will get to know her. Her song ‘Hurricane’ is an organic and electronic pop song with room for many emotions, she says. “[‘Hurricane’] is about staying true to who you are – even in situations where life is hard,” Jeanette explains. “It is important for me to tell people that they aren’t alone and that they are good enough. You have to embrace who you are.”

Johanna Beijbom – ASAP
Lyrics and music: Peter Wallevik, Daniel Heløy Davidsen, Patrick Devine, Dimitri Stassos and Freja Jonsson Blomberg

Swedish Johanna Beijbom has performed at the Eurovision four times – however, “only” as a backup singer. The 29-year-old was a part of Sweden’s Eurovision win back in 2012 when Loreen won with ‘Euphoria’. This year, Johanna’s goal is to reach the Eurovision on her own. The singer will be performing ASAP, which she describes as a disco/pop song. “It is about the feeling of longing for someone you love,” Johanna says.

The ten songs will be released Monday, February 20, while the actual Melodi Grand Prix show will take place Saturday, February 25.

This year’s Eurovision Song Contest will take place in Kiev, Ukraine on May 9, 11, and 13.

What do you think about the finalists? Tell us, @CelebMix.

Written by Josephine Sjelhøj

CelebMix Editor

Obsessed with 90's tv shows

Twitter: @_JosephineS