DISCOVER: States & Capitals Has Released The Video To New Single “FEELINGS”

On 3 May 2019, States & Capitals released the new single “FEELINGS”, and just a few days ago the accompanying music video was dropped. This is an addicting track that has a lot of ’00s indie-rock influence running throughout and as soon as we heard the song we really couldn’t say no to writing up about it. The song follows up previous track “(It’s Not Living) If It’s Not With You”.

States & Capitals are a band that formed in Wyckoff, New Jersey in 2015. Founded by frontman Richie Arthur (full name Richard Arthur Schaafsma), they’ve gone on to have moderate success over the years. They’ve released a total of three EPs, debut Vacant, sophomore For Your Own Good, and third EP CREATIONS&MEMORIES. They’ve released a few singles in promotion of the EPs, and they are mostly known for their 2015 cover of Parachute’s “Kiss Me Slowly”, which currently has over 2 million Spotify streams. The band is leading up to the release of their debut studio album, solely produced by Richie Arthur, himself, which is set to be released in the coming weeks. “FEELINGS” acts as the first single from the said album.

The lyrics dig deep into feelings – unsurprisingly considering the song’s title. “FEELINGS” is “about accepting somebody who may not know how to react on or in a relationship quite yet, and trying to help guide that person through a brand new world of emotions,” according to Richie Arthur. The song itself is simplistic with a pop-rock beat that is certainly missing from popular music, today.

As for the newly released music video, it’s simplistic too as it’s just Richie Arthur in front of the camera, singing the song. However, there’s plenty of different scenes as he is wearing different clothes throughout. He has a teen rock band look about him, similar to 5 Seconds Of Summer, and the track reminds us of this band too, crossed with Saving Aimee or Room 94 – remember them?

The visual has a cool concept since it shows us different sides to Richie Arthur in his styling of clothes and yet he’s still singing the same song suggesting that feelings, themselves, can be found in everyone no matter who you are.

Watch States & Capitals’ New Music Video To “FEELINGS” Here:

“FEELINGS” is available to download and stream right now. The band’s album is expected to be released next month.

The band is set to go out on tour throughout June in support of The Stolen. Tickets can be bought here.

Tour Dates:

  • MAY 31 FRI Creep Records Philadelphia, PA
  • JUN 1 SAT Sunnyvale Brooklyn, NY
  • JUN 8 SAT Evening Star Concert Hall Niagara Falls, NY
  • JUN 9 SUN Spark Art Space Syracuse, NY
  • JUN 10 MON Smiling Moose Pittsburgh, PA
  • JUN 11 TUE Mahall’s Lakewood, OH
  • JUN 13 THU Pike Room Pontiac, MI
  • JUN 14 FRI Irving Theater Indianapolis, IN
  • JUN 15 SAT Subterranean – Downstairs Chicago, IL
  • JUN 16 SUNHigh Noon Madison, WI
  • JUN 19 WED Encore at The Uptown Theater Kansas City, MO
  • JUN 20 THU Fubar St. Louis, MO
  • JUN 21 FRI The End Meia Nashville, TN
  • JUN 22 SAT The Masquerade Atlanta, GA
  • JUN 23 SUN Soundbar Orlando Orlando, FL (pending)
  • JUN 25 TUE Neighborhood Theatre Charlotte, NC
  • JUN 26 WED DC9 Nightclub Washington, DC

What do you make of States & Capitals’ new single and music video “FEELINGS”? Let us know on Twitter @CelebMix.

Written by Jonathan Currinn

29-year-old writer, blogger, author, and journalist. Graduated from Staffordshire University in 2015. I write under the name Critic Jonni, on my blog. I also write for Fuzzable. In the past, I have written for the Daily Star, Channillo, Outlet Magazine, SPECTRUMM, Fox & Squirrel Photography, Modern Magazine, and Electric Mode. Follow me on all socials under the handle: @CriticJonni. Email me at also, if you want, you can buy me a virtual coffee: