ed drewett

Ed Drewett releases new single ‘The Unfortunate Gent’

What do Little Mix’s ‘Black Magic’, The Wanted’s ‘Glad You Came’ and One Direction’s ‘Steal My Girl’ have in common? They were all co-written by the one and only Ed Drewett.

Whilst you might not be familiar with his name, over the past decade Ed has played a vital role in pop music, penning some of the biggest hits by your favourite artists. Olly Murs, The Vamps, Craig David, Louisa Johnson, Ben Haenow, Jonas Blue, Why Don’t We…the list of artists he’s worked with is endless and doubly impressive.

During that time, Ed has also stepped into the limelight as a singer in his own right. He featured on Professor Green’s 2010 smash hit ‘I Need You Tonight’, whilst he’s released great solo singles including ‘Champagne Lemonade’ and ‘Drunk Dial’.

Now, Ed is back with an incredible new single called ‘The Unfortunate Gent’, taken from his forthcoming album Ten. The track is a bizarrely wonderful offering unlike any other in the charts at the moment, and perfectly showcases Ed’s phenomenal ability to write a blinding song.

‘The Unfortunate Gent’ opens with a play on the lyrics of Queen’s ‘Bohemian Rhapsody’, with Ed exclaiming “Mama, I just killed a man, I ain’t fakin’ like Freddie”. If the song lyrics weren’t intriguing enough for you, the staccato piano melody captures your attention immediately. The track is bold, unique and kooky, capturing Ed’s talent in a manner which makes you stand up and pay attention.

Taking to Twitter, Ed explained the inspiration behind ‘The Unfortunate Gent’. “I’d had a session cancelled so I sat at the piano and used the opportunity to write something completely bonkers. I needed to do something bloody different to what I was writing & hearing on a daily basis. It was written to be made an example of a glimpse of the potential variety we’ve got to offer as writers, but don’t always get the opportunities to showcase. Written purely for the love of just writing a song.”

Take a listen to ‘The Unfortunate Gent’ below.

‘The Unfortunate Gent’ is one of ten songs on Ed’s forthcoming album Ten, which is due for release next year. Recorded at Ed’s house, Ten will give pop lovers the chance to hear their favourite songs in a brand new light. He will be delivering some of his best known co-writes, including One Direction’s ‘History’ and Olly Murs’ ‘Dear Darlin’, in the stripped-back acoustic style in which he originally wrote them.

Ed Drewett – Ten tracklist

  1. ‘Glad You Came’
  2. ‘Black Magic’
  3. ‘Dear Darlin’’
  4. ‘Steal My Girl’
  5. ‘Magic’
  6. ‘Middle Of The Night’
  7. ‘Mama’
  8. ‘History’
  9. ‘The Unfortunate Gent’
  10. ‘So Long’

‘The Unfortunate Gent’ is available now.

Let us know your thoughts on Ed Drewett and his new single on Twitter @CelebMix

Written by Katrina Rees

I'm Katrina, or Kat to pretty much everyone. I'm an editor for CelebMix, a content writer, a boyband lover and an all round music fanatic.
Twitter: @lifeofkatrina
Email: katrinanaomirees@gmail.com