Ella Hooper, Tania Doko, And Alfie Arcuri Complete Australia’s National Selection Show For Eurovision 2019 “Eurovision – Australia Decides”

The full line-up has finally been announced. We’ve been waiting for SBS to announce the final three contestants for their national selection show for the Eurovision Song Contest 2019, titled Eurovision – Australia Decides; and now they have revealed those three acts. Ella Hooper, Tania Doko, and Alfie Arcuri joins previously announced acts Kate Miller-Heidke, Sheppard, Mark Vincent, Electric Fields, Courtney Act, Aydan Calafiore, and Leea Nanos.

Eurovision – Australia Decides will take place at the Gold Coast on 9 February 2019 and will be hosted by Myf Warhurst and Joel Creasey. All the acts have now been revealed, but we’re still waiting on a whole range of songs that we cannot wait to hear, however a few have already dropped their Eurovision tracks, and we cannot wait until they’re all released.

More About Australia’s Final Three Revealed Acts For Eurovision – Australia Decides

Ella Hooper

Australians who are into their rock music will, perhaps, recognise her name, as Ella Hooper has made waves in the rock industry, down-under. She was formerly a part of the band Killing Heidi until 2006 where they went on hiatus; they had great success with a number one single in Australia, titled “Mascara”, and a number one debut album, titled Reflector. Their follow-up single and albums gained success and brilliant chart placements. After they disbanded, Ella Hooper and her brother, Jesse Hooper, formed a duo named The Verses, where they had moderate success leading into an album, titled Seasons which peaked at number 13 on the Australian ARIA charts.

As a soloist, Ella Hooper has released a debut album, titled In Tongues, in 2014, independently with the help of Pledge Music; and EP in 2015, titled Venom, and a variety of singles; all the while, becoming a TV presenter in Australia. Her latest single is “To The Bone”, which was released just last year. It’s possible that she could make a musical comeback with this Eurovision attempt.

Alfie Arcuri

Best known for being a contestant on the fifth series of the Australian version of The Voice, where he won the show; Alfie Arcuri has made his name known in the Australian music industry. After winning The Voice, he released a few singles and dropped a debut album, titled Zenith, which peaked at number five on the Australian ARIA Albums chart. He is also an outspoken member of the LGBTQ+ community and his latest single, 2017’s “Love Is Love”, was released in support of the “Yes” vote of the Australian Marriage Law Postal Survey.

Tania Doko

She may be a name you don’t recognise, but we assure you she has a whole host of experience having been a member of the internationally-known duo, Bachelor Girl. They launched into the music scene with their debut track “Buses and Trains” which hit number four in Australia and number six in New Zealand, and became a moderate hit in Sweden and the UK, charting at numbers 29 and 84, respectively. They continued with their success by dropping follow-up singles and two albums, titled Waiting For The Day and Dysfunctional. They later reformed in 2011 for the release of a third studio album which was planned to be released before the band split, stating that these tracks were the lost songs. They went their separate ways again and Tania Doko has made a name for herself in the songwriting world and worked as a vocal coach. They reformed again, just last year, dropping the new single “Speak” on 18 June 2018, exactly 20 years since “Buses and Trains” was officially released – 18 June 1998.

Now that all the acts have announced, we’ve just got to wait for the songs; some of which have already been released. These established acts are sure to alight the Australian Gold Coast, and we cannot wait to see who will be chosen to represent Australia at the Eurovision Song Contest 2019.

Eurovision – Australia Decides will take place on 9 February 2019 with a 50/50 jury and televote to determine their Eurovision representative. It will be hosted on the Gold Coast, Queensland by Myf Warhurst and Joel Creasey.

What do you make of the final three acts announced for Eurovision – Australia Decides? Let us know on Twitter @CelebMix.

Written by Jonathan Currinn

29-year-old writer, blogger, author, and journalist. Graduated from Staffordshire University in 2015. I write under the name Critic Jonni, on my blog. I also write for Fuzzable. In the past, I have written for the Daily Star, Channillo, Outlet Magazine, SPECTRUMM, Fox & Squirrel Photography, Modern Magazine, and Electric Mode. Follow me on all socials under the handle: @CriticJonni. Email me at jonathancurrinn@gmail.com also, if you want, you can buy me a virtual coffee: https://ko-fi.com/jonathancurrinn