“Eurovision – Australia Decides” Acts Ella Hooper And Kate Miller-Heidke Release Their Entry Songs

As the competition to become Australia’s Eurovision 2019 representative draws near, the acts are dropping their songs, and this week has seen contestants Ella Hooper and Kate Miller-Heidke drop their singles. This follows up last week’s releases from Alfie Arcuri, Aydan, Leea Nanos, Mark Vincent, and Electric Fields who all followed Courtney Act in dropping their songs.

Eurovision – Australia Decides is set to take place at the Gold Coast on 9 February 2019 and will be hosted by Myf Warhurst and Joel Creasey. This is the first time Australia will decide on an act through a national selection show, and considering the high calibre of acts, we’re excited to see it how it all pans out. To determine the winner and who will represent Australia at Eurovision, a 50/50 jury and televote will occur.

With the release of these two songs this week, that means we’re just waiting for Sheppard and Tania Doko to release their songs. The former is set to be released on 1 February, which is just a few days away, now, and the latter is also set to release her single on the same day – which is also the date Electric Fields make their track available to download and stream.

Here’s what we made of the two new releases from Eurovision – Australia Decides.

Ella Hooper – Data Dust

Okay, first things first, do not confuse this with Aydan’s song which is titled “Dust”, and we reckon the voting public may confuse the two, depending on running order. Having said that, Ella Hooper’s vocals are fire for “Data Dust” and its set to become another one we love from this competition. It’s rock-fuelled but with a pop-current sound with an indie twist. If Ella Hooper performs this just-right on stage, she could so fare well.

Kate Miller-Heidke – Zero Gravity

We can’t deny that Kate Miller-Heidke’s voice is beyond superb and she is bound to knock it out the park with her live vocals – however we’re not so keen on the track. It’s not something we’d love to listen to and doesn’t quite fit in the great songs we’ve received from Eurovision in the past few years. She is somewhat reminiscent of a cross between Saara Aalto and SuRie, from the former’s brilliant vocal range, to the latter’s not-so-great song. Could she just prove us wrong, and nail it on the night? Time will tell.

Eurovision – Australia Decides will take place on 9 February 2019 with a 50/50 jury and televote to determine their Eurovision representative. It will be hosted on the Gold Coast, Queensland by Myf Warhurst and Joe Creasey.

What do you make of the new revealed tracks by Ella Hooper and Kate Miller-Heidke for Eurovision – Australia Decides? Let us know on Twitter @CelebMix.

Written by Jonathan Currinn

29-year-old writer, blogger, author, and journalist. Graduated from Staffordshire University in 2015. I write under the name Critic Jonni, on my blog. I also write for Fuzzable. In the past, I have written for the Daily Star, Channillo, Outlet Magazine, SPECTRUMM, Fox & Squirrel Photography, Modern Magazine, and Electric Mode. Follow me on all socials under the handle: @CriticJonni. Email me at jonathancurrinn@gmail.com also, if you want, you can buy me a virtual coffee: https://ko-fi.com/jonathancurrinn