john legend

John Legend announces Christmas album ‘A Legendary Christmas’

John Legend has announced that he will be releasing his very own Christmas album.

Executive produced by Raphael Saadiq, A Legendary Christmas will be released by Columbia Records on October 26.

In a video on Twitter, John revealed that he’s been wanting to do a Christmas album for a long time. He has already taken part in a festive photo shoot with his family – wife Chrissy Teigen and their two children Luna and Miles – which will coincide with the album’s release.

 A Legendary Christmas will include eight classic Christmas songs as well as six brand new festive offerings. From the clip posted on Twitter, it sounds as if we’re in for a real treat.

A Legendary Christmas Track List

  1. ‘What Christmas Means to Me’ (feat. Stevie Wonder on harmonica)
  2. ‘Silver Bells’
  3. ‘Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas’ (feat. Esperanza Spalding)
  4. ‘No Place Like Home’
  5. ‘Bring Me Love’
  6. ‘Merry Christmas Baby’ / ‘Give Love on Christmas Day’
  7. ‘Christmas Time Is Here’
  8. ‘Waiting for Christmas’
  9. ‘Purple Snowflakes’
  10. ‘The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting On An Open Fire)’
  11. ‘Please Come Home for Christmas’
  12. ‘Wrap Me Up in Your Love’
  13. ‘By Christmas Eve’
  14. ‘Merry Merry Christmas’

If news of a Christmas album wasn’t enough, John will also be heading out on A Legendary Christmas Tour. Kicking off in Clearwater, FL on November 15, John will spend the rest of the year touring America, rounding off in San Diego on December 30.

Fans are able to sign up for a pre-sale now which will begin at 10am local time tomorrow (October 2). A full list of dates and pre-sale information can be found here.

John was recently anointed with EGOT status, after winning an Emmy for his role in NBC’s Jesus Christ Superstar Live. He is the first black man, and one of only 15 people, to achieve EGOT status after winning an Emmy, Grammy, Oscar and Tony Award.

Are you looking forward to John Legend’s Christmas album? Let us know on Twitter @CelebMix

Written by Katrina Rees

I'm Katrina, or Kat to pretty much everyone. I'm an editor for CelebMix, a content writer, a boyband lover and an all round music fanatic.
Twitter: @lifeofkatrina