Kylie Minogue
Credit: Erik Melvin

Kylie Minogue sends fans wild with the release of new single “Padam Padam”

Pop icon Kylie Minogue makes her long awaited return to music this week with the unveiling of her EPIC new single “Padam Padam”.

Kylie Minogue

Produced by Lostboy (Griff, Anne-Marie, Tiesto) the captivating, sparse, stripped back track sees the Australian superstar marry electronic drum beats with hypnotic pop synths to create a gloriously infectious dance anthem that stands shoulder to shoulder with previous Minogue classics “Slow” and “Can’t Get You Out Of My Head”.

Shot on location in LA and directed by Sophie Muller, the singles accompanying music video sees a “powerful and otherworldly” Kylie dressed head to toe in red, and flanked by a troupe of dancers in variety of different spaces including a diner, motel room and an old, dis-used junkyard.

Watch the official music video for “Padam Padam” below:

Friday, September 22nd 2023 will see the release of Kylie’s brand new studio album “Tension” – a record of pleasure-seeking, empowered dance floor bangers and sultry pop cuts.

In a press release announcing the project, Minogue says of the record: “I started this album with an open mind and a blank page. Unlike my last two albums there wasn’t a ‘theme,’ it was about finding the heart or the fun or the fantasy of that moment and always trying to service the song. I wanted to celebrate each song’s individuality and to dive into that freedom. I would say it’s a blend of personal reflection, club abandon and melancholic high.”

Having worked with a number of producers on the album – with seven of the tracks being produced and co-written with her long-time collaborators, Biff Stannard (Spice Girls) and Duck Blackwell (Louis Tomlinson) – the “Better The Devil You Know” singer adds of the recording process: “I loved being back in the studio with my collaborators but was also able to benefit from remote recording, which we have all got used to – my mobile studio never left my side for a year and a half ! The album is a mix of songs I have written and songs which really spoke to me. Making this album helped me navigate challenging times and celebrate the now. I hope it accompanies listeners on their own journeys and becomes part of their story.”

Kylie Minogue

Tension Tracklisting

1. Padam Padam

2. Hold On To Now

3. Things We Do For Love

4. Tension

5. One More Time

6. You Still Get Me High

7. Hands

8. Green Light

9. Vegas High

10. 10 Out Of 10 (with Oliver Heldens)

11. Story


12. Love Train

13. Just Imagine

14. Somebody To Love

“Tension” is available to pre-save now.

Let us know your thoughts on Kylie Minogue over on Twitter @CelebMix now!

Written by Philip Logan

Twitter & IG: @philip_logan