Matt Cardle makes passionate UK comeback with ‘Time To Be Alive’

Singer-songwriter Matt Cardle makes a welcome return to music next week with the release of his fourth studio album ‘Time To Be Alive’ – an introduction to Matt’s new sound.

The striking new album released on April 27th sees Cardle, who recently took a hiatus from his music career to concentrate on acting, chart his recovery on 14 new songs after collaborating with Jim Eliot who recently worked with Kylie, Will Young, and Ellie Goulding.

The former 2010 X Factor contestant, who went on to win the ITV show in 2010, has reinvented his sound, fusing a mixture of electronica, gospel, rock and soul, with lyrics which reveal a portrait of an artist struggling with his own personal battles in recent years.

Since winning the show and seeing off competition from One Direction, he’s gone on to release three albums and more recently spent 6 months in London’s West End starring as the lead role of Huey Calhoun in hit show ‘Memphis’.

Cardle also auditioned for musical School Of Rock, but recently suggested he failed to impress Sir Andrew Lloyd Webber when auditioning for the show admitting “Webber just walked out.”

Matt’s new music offering is released though Sony, the global recording company he parted ways with back in 2012 after releasing his post-X Factor winner’s album, ‘Letters’.

Tracks on the new album, which was produced by Christopher Elms in Stockholm, best known for his work with Icelandic singer Bjork, include collaborations with Liam Gallagher’s tour drummer Dan McDougall and Dimitri Tikovoi who recently worked alongside MNEK and Goldfrapp.

Matt has co-written all but one of the album’s 14 songs and it’s his first LP release since ‘Porcelain’ back in 2013.

The album is out next Friday and his new single ‘Desire’ is out now.

Are you looking forward to Matt Cardle’s new album? Let us know on Twitter @CelebMix

Written by Jay Curtis

Radio & Television Presenter and Showbiz Reporter