Meryl Streep to be honored at Golden Globes

The Hollywood Foreign Press Association has confirmed that the 67-year-old actress Meryl Streep will be the recipient of this year’s Cecil B. DeMille Award.

The annual honor is given for “outstanding contributions to the world of entertainment.”

So far, Streep has won three Oscars among 19 nominations and 29 Golden Globe nominations. She has also won eight Globes, the last in 2011 for playing Margaret Thatcher in The Iron Lady.

The President of the HFPA, Lorenzo Soria, released a statement about the news:

“It’s no surprise that the HFPA has chosen Meryl Streep as the recipient of the 2017 Cecil B. DeMille Award. Meryl’s enthralling body of work across a diverse set of genres has made her a role model over the past 40 years, and she will continue to do so for generations to come.”

She continued:

“She has always taken roles with strong female leads, creating art by showing vulnerability and portraying truth on the big screen. Simply put, she is a trailblazer, having paved the way for women in television, film and stage.”

Recent recipients of the Cecil B. DeMille Award include Denzel Washington, George Clooney, Woody Allen, Jodie Foster, Morgan Freeman, Robert De Niro and Martin Scorsese.

Image result for meryl streep london film festival

The Golden Globes will air Sunday, January 8, 2017, at 8 p.m. EST.

For more celebrity news follow us on social media via Facebook and Twitter @CelebMix.

Written by Caroline

When nothing is going right, go left.