video music awards

MTV announce Video Music Awards ‘Song of Summer’ nominees

MTV’s Video Music Awards will take place this Sunday (August 27) at The Forum, in Inglewood, California. Whilst the nominated artists and performers are gearing up to attend the event, MTV has ramped up the excitement by confirming the nominees for the final award.

‘Song of Summer’ is a hotly contested award which celebrates some of the biggest anthems from the past few months. There are eight nominees in total, with Luis Fonsi, Daddy Yankee, and Justin Bieber’s ‘Despacito (Remix)’ leading the pack.

Last year’s winner, Fifth Harmony, are nominated once again whilst former member Camila Cabello is also nominated for her solo track ‘OMG’. Ed Sheeran, Demi Lovato, Shawn Mendes, Lil Uzi Vert and DJ Khaled featuring Rihanna and Bryson Tiller complete the nominees.

MTV Video Music Awards ‘Song of Summer’ Nominees

‘Despacito (Remix)’ – Luis Fonsi, Daddy Yankee, Justin Bieber

‘Down’ – Fifth Harmony featuring Gucci Mane

‘OMG’ – Camila Cabello featuring Quavo

‘Shape of You’ – Ed Sheeran

‘Sorry Not Sorry’ – Demi Lovato

‘There’s Nothing Holdin’ Me Back’ – Shawn Mendes

‘Wild Thoughts’ – DJ Khaled featuring Rihanna and Bryson Tiller

‘XO Tour Llif3’ – Lil Uzi Vert

Voting for the ‘Song of Summer’ category will open on Thursday August 25 at 1pm ET and will run for 36 hours. You will be able to vote through a Snapchat Our Story which will celebrate the nominees. The winner of this award will be announced during the live VMA pre-show on Sunday.

Earlier this week, MTV added more names to their star-studded list of performers. It was confirmed that Gucci Mane will be joining the previously announced Fifth Harmony, whilst Logic and Khalid will also be teaming up for a performance. Additionally, we can expect performances from Post Malone and Julia Michaels, whilst Bleachers, Cardi B and Khalid will perform during the pre-show.

They all join the previously announced Ed Sheeran, Shawn Mendes, Miley Cyrus, Lorde, The Weeknd, Kendrick Lamar, 30 Seconds to Mars, host Katy Perry and Video Vanguard Award winner Pink.

Are you excited for this year’s MTV Video Music Awards? Who do you think will be taking home the Moon People awards? Let us know on Twitter @CelebMix

Written by Katrina Rees

I'm Katrina, or Kat to pretty much everyone. I'm an editor for CelebMix, a content writer, a boyband lover and an all round music fanatic.
Twitter: @lifeofkatrina