OneRepublic release new single ‘Wherever I Go’

Multi-platinum, Grammy-nominated quintet OneRepublic have released their new single, entitled ‘Wherever I Go’ today.

‘Wherever I Go’ received its first airplay on BBC Radio 1 this morning and is currently the station’s ‘track of the day’. In typical One Republic style, the song is truly epic sounding and will no doubt be another hit for the band. It was written and produced by Ryan Tedder, Brent Kutzle and Noel Zancanella and will be featured on the band’s fourth studio album which will be released later this year.

To announce the release of their new single, OneRepublic sent out hand-written postcards to their fans across the world, asking the recipients to post a picture of the card in the most beautiful or memorable place in their city, using the hashtag #WhereverIGo. The postcards reached fans in countries such as the UK, United States, Indonesia and Brazil, to name but a few.

A video for ‘Wherever I Go’ will premiere on Vevo on May 17. It has been directed by Joseph Kahn, who has worked with Eminem and Taylor Swift, and will feature actor Kenneth Choi (American Crime Story, Wolf of Wall Street, Sons of Anarchy).

The soulful, rhythmic ‘Wherever I Go’ is the first music to be released by OneRepublic since 2014, and marks a new sound for the band as they prepare to release their fourth album. The band will perform the single for the first time on UK live TV on Britain’s Got Talent semi-finals on May 23rd. The band tweeted that the album is “new, modern, different, unlike anything we’ve done.” The album will be the follow-up to OneRepublic’s 2013 album Native, which went platinum in the UK and included the top ten singles Love Runs Out’,  ‘I Lived’, ‘If I Lose Myself’ and the number 1 selling ‘Counting Stars’, which sold over 10 million downloads worldwide.

OneRepublic, which is Tedder, guitarist Zach Filkins, drummer Eddie Fisher, guitarist Drew Brown, and bassist Brent Kutzle, released their debut album Dreaming Out Loud in 2007. The album included the smash single “Apologize,” which shattered digital sales and airplay records worldwide and received a Grammy nomination. The band’s second album, 2009’s Waking Up, produced three singles: “All the Right Moves,” “Secrets,” and “Good Life.” Tedder is also a Grammy-winning songwriter and producer who has worked with such artists as Taylor Swift, Adele, Beyoncé, U2, Ellie Goulding, Maroon 5, and many others.

We’re so glad to have OneRepublic back, and their new music is as powerful as ever. ‘Wherever I Go’ is available to download and stream now.

Take a listen to ‘Wherever I Go’ below.

Are you glad to hear new music from OneRepublic? Share your thoughts with us @CelebMix or leave a comment below.

Written by Katrina Rees

I'm Katrina, or Kat to pretty much everyone. I'm an editor for CelebMix, a content writer, a boyband lover and an all round music fanatic.
Twitter: @lifeofkatrina