RuthAnne announces debut album ‘Matters Of The Heart’

Singer-songwriter extraordinaire RuthAnne has announced that her debut album Matters Of The Heart will be released on October 4.

The 15-track album will include RuthAnne’s forthcoming track ‘Take What I Can Get’, in addition to her previous singles including ‘The Vow’, ‘Love Again’, ‘Superman’ and ‘Unrequited’. Illustrating her evolution into a strong, independent woman in both her personal and professional life, the album marks RuthAnne’s journey from songwriter to the stars to a recording artist in her own right.

Speaking about the album, RuthAnne said: “I wrote a lot of my album Matters Of The Heart after living in LA for five years and returning to home, Ireland & London. The album is in three sections and it follows the timeline exactly of when each of the songs were written. It’s the journey through my 20’s… first is ‘HEARTBREAK’, to ‘HOPE’, then to ‘LOVE’. Becoming a woman, learning the lessons from bad toxic ‘feckboy Hollywood’ relationships I got into in LA. It’s a growing up album and anyone who knows me as a person, knows I deal with matters of the heart in every encounter.”

Taking us through RuthAnne’s story, chapter by chapter, the album includes production from the likes of Frazer T Smith (Adele, Tom Grennan, Stormzy), Malay (Lorde, Frank Ocean, ZAYN), Future Cut (Little Mix, Shakira), Noah Breakfast (Ty Dolla $ign, Christine And The Queens) and Sonny J Mason (Kimbra). Matters Of The Heart features RuthAnne’s trademark songwriting, combining the pop sensibilities of the artists she’s worked for in addition to some of her favourite 90’s RnB artists.

She continues: “I’m a deep person who secretly wants to be a therapist and is fascinated with human nature in relationship. Why we treat each other the way we do; why we hurt the ones we love sometimes; why we stay with the wrong person; why we are afraid to let go; why are we never satisfied and why we find it so hard to love ourselves. Throughout my album you see a growth from brokenness to strength, from naivety to wisdom from complicated to clarity all through the nostalgia of classic soul, RnB, pop songs.”

Matters of the Heart tracklist

  1. ‘Take My Place’
  2. ‘Unrequited’
  3. ‘Take What I Can Get’
  4. You Don’t Have A Heart’
  5. ‘Superman’
  6. ‘It Is What It Is’
  7. ‘Too Young’
  8. ‘Liquid’
  9. ‘Waterfalls’ (Live)
  10. ‘Love Again’
  11. ‘My Mind’ (Interlude)
  12. ‘For The One I Love’
  13. ‘Honest Man’
  14. ‘The Vow’
  15. ‘Move Me’

RuthAnne has made a name for herself over the years as a sensational songwriter to the stars, penning hits including JoJo’s ‘Too Little Too Late’, Britney’s ‘Work Bitch’, One Direction’s ‘Where Do Broken Hearts Go’, and Martin Garrix and Bebe Rexha’s ‘In The Name Of Love’. She also co-wrote five songs on Niall Horan’s debut album Flicker including the smash hit ‘Slow Hands’ and also co-wrote his upcoming single ‘Nice To Meet Ya’.

However, in recent times she has grown from strength to strength as an artist in her own right, receiving accolades from BBC 1Xtra, Billboard, The Independent, The Times, Idolator and more. The singer-songwriter has amassed over 14 million streams and her song ‘The Vow’ was played during the Love Island 2019 final, achieving over 15,000 Shazams within the hour.

RuthAnne will be headlining Colours (Hoxton Square Bar & Kitchen) on October 16 so you’ll be able to hear her debut album live in all its glory! Click here for tickets.

Pre-save Matters of the Heart here.

Are you excited for the debut album from RuthAnne? Let us know on Twitter @CelebMix

Written by Katrina Rees

I'm Katrina, or Kat to pretty much everyone. I'm an editor for CelebMix, a content writer, a boyband lover and an all round music fanatic.
Twitter: @lifeofkatrina