Sarah McTernan to represent Ireland at Eurovision Song Contest 2019 with “22”

After several quiet months, the Irish broadcaster RTÉ has finally announced their representative for the Eurovision Song Contest 2019, and it’s Sarah McTernan who will represent Ireland in Tel Aviv with “22”.

According to RTÉ, they have received a huge amount of entries for this year, thanks to Ryan O’Shaughnessy‘s success in Lisbon last year. Also, over 430 songs were submitted to them for consideration, from which they ultimately chose the winning song, written by Janieck, Marcia “Misha” Sondeijker and Roulsen.

As for Sarah, she is a 25-year-old Irish singer-songwriter, who rose to fame after coming third in The Voice of Ireland 2015. So far, she has released one single called “Eye of the Storm”, written by Linda Persson and Ylva.

The music video for “22” was directed by Christian Tierney who has worked with artists including Niall Horan, The Weeknd, Macklemore, Demi Lovato, Kendrick Lamar, Drake, The 1975, Hozier and James Bay.

Watch the official music video for “22” below:

After failing to qualify four times since 2014, Ryan O’Shaughnessy finally took Ireland back to the final last year. There he finished 16th out of the 26 songs. Now, will they qualify to the Grand Final again?

Ireland will compete in the second semi-final on the 16th of May.

Announced acts so far for this years Eurovision Song Contest are Srbuk for ArmeniaTamta for CyprusJonida Maliqi for AlbaniaEliot for BelgiumMiki for SpainSerhat for San MarinoDuncan Laurence for The NetherlandsTamara Todevska for North MacedoniaMichela Pace for MaltaBilal Hassani for FranceLake Malawi for the Czech RepublicPÆNDA for AustriaDarude feat. Sebastian Rejman for FinlandMichael Rice for the United KingdomSergey Lazarev for RussiaMahmood for ItalyKate Miller-Heidke for AustraliaD-Moll for Montenegro, Kobi Marimi for IsraelKaterine Duska for GreeceJoci Pápai for HungaryJurijus for LithuaniaLeonora for DenmarkS!sters for GermanyEster Peony for RomaniaVictor Crone for EstoniaRoko for CroatiaCarousel for LatviaTulia for PolandHatari for IcelandZala Kralj & Gašper Šantl for SloveniaKEiiNO for NorwayNevena Bozovic for SerbiaConan Osíris for PortugalOto Nemsadze for GeorgiaAnna Odobescu for Moldova, Luca Hänni for Switzerland, John Lundwick for Sweden and Zena for Belarus. The other countries are expected to reveal their acts in the forthcoming days.

The 2019 Eurovision Song Contest will be hosted at the Expo Tel Aviv in Israel after Netta won last year with the song “Toy”. The two Semi-Finals will take place on 14 May and 16 May with the Grand Final taking place on 18 May. A total of 41 countries will compete in the contest.

Do you like Ireland’ entry this for Eurovision Song Contest 2019? Let us know on Twitter @CelebMix.

Written by Alexandra Nagy

I'm Alexandra from Hungary, now living in the UK, and writing is not just my hobby - it's my passion. I'm a writer/journalist addicted to music, travelling, football, movies & books, proudly supporting Derby County Football Club.
Any enquiries: