Steps announce new album ‘Tears on the Dancefloor’ and UK tour

To commemorate their 20th anniversary, everybody’s favourite 90’s band Steps have announced a new album called Tears on the Dancefloor.

The album, which is set for release on April 21, is their first album of new original material since 2000. The first single to be lifted from the album is called ‘Scared of the Dark’ and will be released on Friday.

We can expect great things from the album, as it features tracks written by some of pop music’s biggest songwriters. These include: Ina Wroldsen (Calvin Harris, Britney Spears), Steve Mac (Jess Glynne, Little Mix), TMS (Years & Years, Sigma), Carl Ryden (The Saturdays, David Guetta), Fiona Bevan (1D, 5SOS) and Metrophonic (Cher, Olly Murs).

Speaking of the forthcoming album, Steps said: “This is the album we think our fans have been waiting for. It was very important for us to have a hint of the past but to try to blend it into modern day music. We think Steps are a little bit of what everyone needs right now. We can’t wait to take the new album plus all our favorite hits out on the road.”

To celebrate the new album and their anniversary, Steps have also announced a Winter Party On The Dancefloor tour. The band will be touring arenas in November and December, kicking off in Dublin on November 13. As if we weren’t feeling nostalgic enough, Steps will be supported by Vengaboys. Get your dancing shoes ready, because you’ll be in for one crazy night!

A fan presale begins tomorrow, whilst general sale begins on Friday (March 10). Check out the dates below.

Keep up to date with Steps online and at Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.

Are you excited for new Steps music? Will you be going to see them on tour? Let us know on Twitter @CelebMix

Written by Katrina Rees

I'm Katrina, or Kat to pretty much everyone. I'm an editor for CelebMix, a content writer, a boyband lover and an all round music fanatic.
Twitter: @lifeofkatrina