The Lumineers Release “Gloria” Music Video From Their Forthcoming Visual Album “III”

The Lumineers have released a very personal music video for their recently released single “Gloria”. The track was released on Friday, as part of a three-piece chapter with songs “Donna” and “Life In The City”. Music videos for those two tracks are expected to be released in the coming days.

The band currently consists of original members and songwriters Wesley Schultz and Jeremiah Fraites with Lauren Jacobson (violinist/vocalist), Stelth Ulvang (pianist), Byron Isaacs (bassist/backing vocalist), and Brandon Miller (multi-instrumentalist). The American group have had enormous success all around the world, namely their debut single, “Ho Hey”, charting well globally. Their self-titled debut album performed just as well internationally, but it was their sophomore album that did even better, managing to hit number one in the US and in the UK. As well as their releases, they’ve had multiple sold-out tours with their latest tour, Cleopatra World Tour, selling 300,000 tickets with 27 tour dates completely sold-out.

“Gloria” is the first music video released, with “Donna” planned to be released on 21 May, whilst “Life In The City” is set for 22 May. The album is a cinematic experience with each track having its own music video which contributes to a bigger picture. The band will release sets of songs from the album in EPs, which they naming as Chapters. Chapter I focuses on Gloria Sparks – the character whom we meet in this new music video. Each chapter will focus on a certain character from each generation of the Sparks family, with Chapter II focusing on Gloria’s grandson – Junior, whilst Chapter III will focus on her son – Jimmy.

The music videos are highly personal because they deal with subjects very close to the lead vocalist’s heart, Wesley Schultz. Speaking about it in a press release, he said: “Gloria is an addict. Her character was inspired by a member of my family, and no amount of love or resources could save her. She’s now been homeless for over a year. Loving an addict is like standing among the crashing waves, trying to bend the will of the sea.”

Watch The Lumineers’ Music Video For “Gloria” Here:

There’s clearly a lot more to this story and we cannot wait to watch Gloria’s story unfold in the next few days. Not only that but to see the wider impact that her addiction has on the rest of the generations when those chapters get released.

The track, “Gloria”, is available to download and stream, right now, as part of The Lumineer’s EP Chapter I Gloria Sparks, which is the first of three chapter EPs that are set to be released before the album arrives in September, via Decca Records / Dualtone / Universal Music Operations Limited. Chapter II Junior Sparks will be released on 7 July and will contain three tracks (“It Wasn’t Easy To Be Happy For You”, “Leader Of The Landslide”, and “Left For Denver”) whilst Chapter III Jimmy Sparks will be out on 16 August and will contain four tracks (“My Cell”, “Jimmy Sparks”, “April”, and “Salt Of The Sea”). The full album release will drop on 13 September 2019, with three bonus tracks.

The band is set to tour across the UK and Europe this November. Make sure you buy tickets to their III World Tour, as we’re sure some dates will sell out, no doubt.

Tour Dates:

  • 1 November – Campo Pequeno, Lisbon, Portugal
  • 2 November – WiZink Center, Madrid, Spain
  • 4 November – Alcatraz, Milan, Italy
  • 6 November – Halle 622, Zurich, Switzerland
  • 7 November – Zenith, Munich, Germany
  • 9 November – Gasometer, Vienna, Austria
  • 10 November – Forum Karlin, Prague, Czech Republic
  • 13 November – Sporthalle, Hamburg, Germany
  • 14 November – Verti Music Hall, Berlin, Germany
  • 16 November – Ancienne Belgique, Brussels, Belgium
  • 18 November – TivoliVredenburg, Utrecht, Netherlands
  • 19 November – Palladium, Cologne, Germany
  • 20 November – Le Zénith, Paris, France
  • 22 November – The SSE Hydro, Glasgow, UK
  • 24 November – Manchester Arena, Manchester, UK
  • 27 November – The O2, London, UK
  • 29 November – 3Arena, Dublin, Ireland

What do you make of The Lumineers’ music video for “Gloria”? Let us know on Twitter @CelebMix.

Written by Jonathan Currinn

28-year-old writer, blogger, author, and journalist. Graduated from Staffordshire University in 2015. I write under the name Critic Jonni, on my blog. I also write for Fuzzable. In the past, I have written for the Daily Star, Channillo, Outlet Magazine, SPECTRUMM, Fox & Squirrel PhotographyModern Magazine, and Electric Mode. Follow me on Twitter @CriticJonni. Buy me a virtual coffee as a thank you: