Albania’s Jonida Maliqi revamps “Ktheju Tokës” for Eurovision Song Contest 2019

RTSH has revealed the revamped version of the Albanian entry for the Eurovision Song Contest 2019 in Tel Aviv, Israel. Jonida Maliqi was selected to represent the nation in Albania with “Ktheju Tokës” back in December, and now her song has undergone a major revamp.

The recording of the new version took place in Stockholm, Sweden last month with composer Eriona Rushiti, Enis Mullaj and Sokol Marsi. As the song’s lyrics refer to the Albanian immigrants around the world, it would’ve been a mistake translating it to English, however, the biggest question many fans were asking was whether Jonida will be keeping it in the original language or rather have it remade for the grandiose contest.

As for Albania, the country is known for bringing English songs to the Eurovision stage – they did it from 2014 to 2017, but since Eugent Bushpepa kept his song “Mall” in the original format last year, singer Jonida hopes to replicate his success, as she stated she would keep her winning song as it is.

What is different then? Well, most of the song has remained the same, but the Albanian number has gained more atmosphere, and also, the opening beat has changed, breaking up the repetitive rhythm present. To the first verse, flute-like sounds were added, and they have added some more instrumental layers to the chorus, making it more dramatic and deep.

Watch the artistic music video with for the revamped version of “Ktheju Tokës” below:

All acts of the acts have now been announced, they are Srbuk for ArmeniaTamta for CyprusJonida Maliqi for AlbaniaEliot for BelgiumMiki for SpainSerhat for San MarinoDuncan Laurence for The NetherlandsTamara Todevska for North MacedoniaMichela Pace for MaltaBilal Hassani for FranceLake Malawi for the Czech RepublicPÆNDA for AustriaDarude feat. Sebastian Rejman for FinlandMichael Rice for the United KingdomSergey Lazarev for RussiaMahmood for ItalyKate Miller-Heidke for AustraliaD-Moll for Montenegro, Kobi Marimi for IsraelKaterine Duska for GreeceJoci Pápai for HungaryJurijus for LithuaniaLeonora for DenmarkS!sters for GermanyEster Peony for RomaniaVictor Crone for EstoniaRoko for CroatiaCarousel for LatviaTulia for PolandHatari for IcelandZala Kralj & Gašper Šantl for SloveniaKEiiNO for NorwayNevena Bozovic for SerbiaConan Osíris for PortugalOto Nemsadze for GeorgiaAnna Odobescu for MoldovaLuca Hänni for SwitzerlandJohn Lundvik for SwedenZena for BelarusSarah McTernan for Ireland, and Chingiz for Azerbaijan.

The 2019 Eurovision Song Contest will be hosted at the Expo Tel Aviv in Israel after Netta won last year with the song “Toy”. The two Semi-Finals will take place on 14 May and 16 May with the Grand Final taking place on 18 May. A total of 41 countries will compete in the contest.

What do you think of the revamp of Jonida Maliqi’s song “Ktheju Tokës” which will represent Albania at the Eurovision Song Contest 2019? Let us know on Twitter @CelebMix.

Written by Alexandra Nagy

I'm Alexandra from Hungary, now living in the UK, and writing is not just my hobby - it's my passion. I'm a writer/journalist addicted to music, travelling, football, movies & books, proudly supporting Derby County Football Club.
Any enquiries: