The Chainsmokers release debut album, take ‘SNL’ stage

It has been a weekend full of memories for The Chainsmokers.

After coming out with consecutive hit singles over the course of the last year and completely dominating the music scene, the popular EDM duo finally dropped their debut record Memories… Do Not Open on Friday. The new album features collaborations with Coldplay, Jhene Aiko and Florida Georgia Line.

“The box of Memories…Do Not Open symbolizes the message of our album. We all have childhood bedrooms, filled with objects that illustrate special moments,” The “Closer” hitmakers shared on Facebook on the eve of the record’s release. “Eventually, that room and its objects are boxed up as we grow up and move out but a few of the very important items remain in a box that is saved…memories.”

This past weekend, The Chainsmokers also made their first ever appearance on Saturday Night Live, performing “Break Up Every Night” and “Paris” with contributing vocals from Emily Warren, who is originally featured on the track.

Earlier this year, the pair took home the award for Best Dance Recording at the Grammys for their smash hit “Don’t Let Me Down” featuring Daya and also received nominations for the Best New Artist and Best Pop Duo/Group Performance.

The Chainsmokers are currently getting ready to embark on a 40-city North American arena tour that kicks off later this week in Miami and wraps up on June 10 in New York. Warren and Kiiara will open for the boys out on the road.

You can stream Memories… Do Not Open below.

Don’t forget to tweet us your thoughts, @CelebMix.

Written by Cayla Masters

Music, pop culture and cheesesteak lover. Follow me on Twitter, @caylamasters