Demi Lovato

Demi Lovato releases new track ‘Dancing With The Devil’

Global superstar Demi Lovato has unveiled her latest release, a powerful ballad called ‘Dancing With The Devil’.

First teased in the trailer for her newly released documentary, ‘Dancing With The Devil’ is a frank offering which confronts Demi’s struggles with addition, more specifically her relapse and near-fatal overdose in 2018. Demi is no stranger to wearing her heart on her sleeve, however, ‘Dancing With The Devil’ is her most brutally honest release to date as she opens up about one of her darkest moments.

I was dancing with the devil, out of control
Almost made it to heaven, it was closer than you know
Playing with the enemy, gambling with my soul
It’s so hard to say no when you’re dancing with the devil

The track comes accompanied by a live acoustic performance video which further emphasises the emotional nature of the song. Highlighting Demi’s powerhouse vocals, this stripped back rendition is utterly compelling and showcases her remarkable strength.

‘Dancing With The Devil’ is taken from her forthcoming Dancing with the Devil…The Art of Starting Over, which is due for release next Friday (April 2). The album includes the previously released ‘Anyone’, and ‘What Other People Say’ featuring Sam Fischer.

The 19-track record will also include collaborations with Ariana Grande, Noah Cyrus, and Saweetie, and is a companion piece to her four-part YouTube documentary series.

Dancing with the Devil…The Art of Starting Over Tracklist

1. ‘Anyone’
2. ‘Dancing With The Devil’
3. ‘ICU’ (Madison’s Lullaby)

4. ‘Intro’
5. ‘The Art of Starting Over’
6. ‘Lonely People’
7. ‘The Way You Don’t Look At Me’
8. ‘Melon Cake’
9. ‘Met Him Last Night’ featuring Ariana Grande
10. ‘What Other People Say’ with Sam Fischer
11. ‘Carefully’
12. ‘The Kind of Lover I Am’
13. ‘Easy’ with Noah Cyrus
14. ’15 Minutes’
15. ‘My Girlfriends are My Boyfriend’ featuring Saweetie
16. ‘California Sober’
17. ‘Mad World’
18. ‘Butterfly’
19. ‘Good Place’

The first two parts of Demi’s documentary Demi Lovato: Dancing with the Devil were released earlier this week. The fearless series sees Demi and her closest friends and family discuss what led to her near-fatal overdose, including chronic eating disorders and her drug and alcohol addition.

A harrowing revelation in the trailer sees Demi explain, “I had three strokes, I had a heart attack. My doctors said that I had five to 10 more minutes [to live].” The documentary also gives a glimpse into her life today and her path to healing.

‘Dancing With The Devil’ is available to download and stream now. Dancing with the Devil…The Art of Starting Over is available to pre-order.

Let us know your thoughts on Demi Lovato and her new music on Twitter @CelebMix

Written by Katrina Rees

I'm Katrina, or Kat to pretty much everyone. I'm an editor for CelebMix, a content writer, a boyband lover and an all round music fanatic.
Twitter: @lifeofkatrina