dua lipa

Dua Lipa releases her highly anticipated self-titled debut album

Dua Lipa has finally unveiled her highly anticipated self-titled debut album. Despite being pushed back several times, we can confirm that the end result was well worth the wait!

The 12-track album (or 17-track if you love a deluxe edition like we do) is jam packed with huge hits, from the previously released ‘Be The One’, ‘Hotter Than Hell’, and ‘Blow Your Mind (Mwah)’ to new offerings such as ‘Genesis’, ‘IDGAF’ and ‘New Rules’.

Additionally, there are two incredible collaborations on the album: ‘Lost In Your Light’ featuring Miguel, and ‘Homesick’ featuring Chris Martin. Dua has worked with a host of huge names whilst writing and producing the album. Whilst Dua herself has co-written all but one of the album tracks, the likes of Emily Warren, Chelsee Grimes and Talay Riley have also contributed to the writing side. MNEK, Digital Farm Animals and Axident are among the credited producers.

Dua’s self-titled offering has been in the works since 2015, and during an interview with The New York Times, she revealed that she wanted the album to be personal and relatable, whilst also being enjoyable. “All the sad things that happen are the things that linger on my mind the longest, the things that I feel like I want to write about,” she said. “But then at the same time I like dancing to it. So it’s finding that mixture between lyrically it being very personal and inspired by events, and then being able to also listen to it and dance along and not think about what the lyrics can mean.”

Dua has done a superb job of turning her personal stories into addictive, powerful and often danceworthy songs. Her unique vocal makes the entire album irresistible to the ear, whether it be an uptempo track or a moving ballad. ‘IDGAF’, ‘Garden’ and ‘Bad Together’ are some of our favourites in terms of new tracks, whilst ‘Blow Your Mind (Mwah)’ and ‘Be The One’ still stand out as Dua highlights.

We love Dua’s attitude and it certainly comes across throughout the album. There is no doubt that Dua Lipa is one of the hottest females in the industry right now, and we’re certain that her debut album is just going to further propel her to the top.

Dua Lipa Tracklisting

  1. ‘Genesis’
  2. ‘Lost In Your Light’ featuring Miguel
  3. ‘Hotter Than Hell’
  4. ‘Be The One’
  5. ‘IDGAF’
  6. ‘Blow Your Mind (Mwah)’
  7. ‘Garden’
  8. ‘No Goodbyes’
  9. ‘Thinking ‘Bout You’
  10. ‘New Rules’
  11. ‘Begging’
  12. ‘Homesick’

Bonus Deluxe Tracks

  1. ‘Dreams’
  2. ‘Room For 2’
  3. ‘New Love’
  4. ‘Bad Together’
  5. ‘Last Dance’

Dua Lipa is available now.

Are you loving Dua Lipa’s debut album as much as we are? Let us know on Twitter @CelebMix

Written by Katrina Rees

I'm Katrina, or Kat to pretty much everyone. I'm an editor for CelebMix, a content writer, a boyband lover and an all round music fanatic.
Twitter: @lifeofkatrina
Email: katrinanaomirees@gmail.com