gary barlow

Gary Barlow announces 21st anniversary re-issue of ‘Open Road’

Gary Barlow has delighted fans by announcing that he will be releasing a 21st anniversary re-issue of his debut album, Open Road. 

Released back in 1997, Open Road reached number one in the UK and featured the hit singles ‘Forever Love’, and ‘Love Won’t Wait’. The 21st anniversary two-disc re-issue, due for release on April 13, will see the Take That frontman re-master the original songs for CD1, whilst CD2 will contain a series of demos and live sessions. The album will also be available on vinyl for the first time.

Open Road Tracklist


  1. Love Won’t Wait
  2. So Help Me Girl
  3. My Commitment
  4. Hang On In There Baby
  5. Are You Ready Now
  6. Everything I Wanted
  7. I Fall So Deep
  8. Lay Down For Love
  9. Forever Love
  10. Never Knew
  11. Open Road
  12. Always


  1. So Help Me Girl – Radio 1 session
  2. Hang On In There Baby – Radio 1 session
  3. Are You Ready Now
  4. Everything I Wanted – Demo
  5. Lay Down For Love – Demo
  6. Forever Love – Demo
  7. Never Knew – Demo
  8. Open Road – Demo or Radio 1
  9. The Meaning Of A Love Song
  10. Cuddly Toy
  11. Superhero

In celebration of the re-issue, Gary has shared a live 2018 version of the hit ‘Forever Love’ which sees him strip the song back to solely a piano melody. Check out the beautiful version below.

The re-issue of Open Road coincides with Gary’s forthcoming solo tour. His mammoth 50-date tour will kick off in Edinburgh on April 16. Whilst we can expect to hear a mixture of his classic solo material along with some of Take That’s biggest hits, we’ve pinpointed seven songs that we would love to hear him sing on tour.

In addition to his latest solo venture, Gary, along with his Take That bandmates Mark Owen and Howard Donald, recently announced that their musical The Band will be making its way to London’s West End this December. They joined the incredible cast for a performance on the roof of the Theatre Royal Haymarket to celebrate the news.

Open Road is available to pre-order now.

Are you excited for Gary Barlow’s album news? Will you be going to see him on tour? Let us know on Twitter @CelebMix

Written by Katrina Rees

I'm Katrina, or Kat to pretty much everyone. I'm an editor for CelebMix, a content writer, a boyband lover and an all round music fanatic.
Twitter: @lifeofkatrina