McFly continue to tease new album with the release of ‘Tonight Is The Night’

McFly have released their new single ‘Tonight Is The Night’, taken from their highly anticipated album Young Dumb Thrills.

Written by the band with Jason Perry and Jordan Cardy, the track is a reflective and melancholic offering which is a total contrast from the album’s lead single ‘Happiness’. It’s also very reminiscent of the band’s earlier material but with a 2020 twist.

Speaking about the track, McFly Drummer Harry Judd said: “In a way ‘Tonight Is The Night’ is the perfect summary of the album because it’s got this classic Tom [Fletcher] melody but with Danny [Jones] production flourishes and great harmonies and hints of [McFly’s 2006 album] Motion in the Ocean“.  

Listen to ‘Tonight Is The Night’ below.


‘Tonight Is The Night’ is the third taste from McFly’s forthcoming album Young Dumb Thrills, following on from the euphoric lead single ‘Happiness’ and the Mark Hoppus collaboration ‘Growing Up’. Young Dumb Thrills is due for release on November 13 and marks the band’s first studio album release since 2010’s Above The Noise.

Having spent 2020 recording their new album, McFly describe its sound as “naturally and quintessentially us”.  If the previously released tracks are anything to go by, then we’re truly excited by the thought of a new album and are counting down the days until next month!

For more McFly content, check out our official ranking of every song the band have released!

‘Tonight Is The Night’ is available to download and stream now.

What do you think of ‘Tonight Is The Night’? Let us know your thoughts on McFly and their new single on Twitter @CelebMix

Written by Katrina Rees

I'm Katrina, or Kat to pretty much everyone. I'm an editor for CelebMix, a content writer, a boyband lover and an all round music fanatic.
Twitter: @lifeofkatrina