new music round up

New Music Round Up – 14/11/17

Welcome back to another New Music Round Up.

This week’s new releases was dominated by Taylor Swift’s highly anticipated sixth album, Reputation. In addition to treating fans to another incredible record, she’s also unveiled the first round of her tour dates for 2018.

In terms of singles, Eminem made a welcome return to the music industry with a huge collaboration called ‘Walk on Water’. The song features none other than Queen Bey herself, Beyoncé. Elsewhere, Camila Cabello shared the Daddy Yankee remix of ‘Havana’, whilst Shania Twain and Nick Jonas teamed up for a new Christmas song called ‘Say All You Want For Christmas’. There were also new songs from Nick Tangorra and Rothwell.

As usual, we’re on hand to share even more new music with you. Here’s 11 new tracks you need to be listening to and adding to your playlists.

Jason Derulo – ‘Tip Toe’ featuring French Montana

Jason Derulo is back with another earworm track called ‘Tip Toe’. Teaming up with rapper French Montana, the song has Jason’s trademark style stamped all over it, and we’re certain you’ll be singing along to the chorus immediately. ‘Tip Toe’ follows on from ‘If I’m Lucky’ and ‘Swalla’, with all three songs expected to feature on Jason’s forthcoming album 777.

Fuse ODG – ‘Boa Mi’ featuring Ed Sheeran and Mugeez

‘Boa Mi’ is the new single from Fuse ODG, which sees him team up with Ed Sheeran and Mugeez. The track is more chilled than what we usually expect from Fuse, however, it’s just as infectious. ‘Boa Mi’, which means ‘assist me’ in Twi, is a fun, uplifting song which is guaranteed to bring a smile to your face. Fuse is good pals with Ed and has worked with him in the past, including on Ed’s ‘Bibia Be Ye Ye’. It is no surprise to then hear Ed singing in Twi during the chorus.

Sia – ‘Snowman’

Sia continues to spread the Christmas cheer by teasing new tracks from her forthcoming festive album ‘Everyday Is Christmas’, which is due for release on Friday. ‘Snowman’ is a beautiful ballad co-written with Greg Kurstin. Speaking with Zane Lowe, Sia revealed that she wants her new album to address the “shortage of good Christmas music.There’s obviously the classics and stuff, but anything new, I wasn’t vibing that much on it.”

Nadine – ‘Rise’

‘Rise’ is the new single from London based artist Nadine. The track is taken from her forthcoming third EP of the same name, which is produced by Dave Holden of Flat 6 Music. ‘Rise’ showcases Nadine’s confident expression of her art. The accompanying music is simple yet powerful, and combines her respect of traditional values and a bursting curiosity for the new.

Watch for Horses – ‘San Junipero’

‘San Junipero’ is the new single from American indie rock band Watch for Horses. Consisting of Joshua Borja, Julian Chavez, Bryant Genuino and Ralph Tafoya, the band aim to use their sound as a way of expressing what words cannot. Produced by Joshua Brooks and Jon O’Brien and Francois Comtois, ‘San Junipero’ is fun, energetic and has a catchy chorus which is bound to stick with you long after the song is over. The track was inspired by the dynamic of an unforseen relationship in an episode of Black Mirror. “The most intriguing part is that this all takes place in this alternative to heaven, called San Junipero” reveals Ralph.

Seeb – ‘Cruel World’ featuring Skip Marley

Norwegian trio Seeb, made up of Simen Eriksrud, Espen Berg and Niklas Strandbråten, are back with their new single ‘Cruel World’. Teaming up with Skip Marley, the track is the first to be taken from their forthcoming EP, which is due for release in 2018. The track combines Seeb’s slick production and infectious production skills with Skip’s smooth vocals, which will surely make for another successful song for both artists.

Ms Banks – ‘Bangs’

Ms Banks continues her incredible streak with her new song ‘Bangs’. Produced by NYGE, the track will feature on her forthcoming project which will drop in the new year. ‘Bangs’ combines hip hop, grime and trap influences with Ms Banks’ incredible lyrical flow – it’s no wonder that Nicki Minaj is such a big fan! Speaking to The FADER about the song, she said: “You know that moment when you’re lit enough that everything just BANGS… and then you realise you didn’t always have it like that… yeah this is that amazing feeling in a tune. Enjoy x’.”

Youngr x Endor – ‘Give It Up’

Multi-talented musician Youngr and rising producer Endor have teamed up for a new bootleg collab, ‘Give It Up’. The track sees the pair transform Lee Dorsey’s 1969 gem, and giving it their own euphoric spin. Speaking about the track, Youngr said: “A friend sent me an email saying “bootleg this!” and it was a YouTube link to Lee Dorsey’s original ‘Give It Up’. I instantly loved it, got to work and since then I’ve been playing it in all my sets around the world. This badman Endor turned round a delicious, tasty, groovy house version of it.” Endor added “When Youngr approached me to collab on this I immediately jumped on the idea. We wanted to take this amazing Lee Dorsey sample and transform it into something which would resonate at club while staying true to its soulful roots. It’s been a big one in my sets!”

Kim Petras – ‘Slow It Down’

‘Slow It Down’ is the sultry new offering from Kim Petras. Speaking to Refinery29, Kim said that she wrote the song with a “classic, sexy prom night slow dance feel” in mind. The track follows on from her debut single ‘I Don’t Want It At All’, which has racked up over 4 million streams on Spotify. Its music video also features a guest appearance from Paris Hilton! There’s a huge buzz around Kim at the moment and it seems that her success is only set to continue.

Menke – ‘Moln’

‘Moln’ (Swedish for ‘cloud’) is the stunning debut single from Menke. Inspired by one of Karin Boye’s poems, Menke has delivered a powerful first offering which is sure to make her stand out in the industry. Speaking about the track, she told The Line of Best Fit: “People often ask: why Karin Boye? Why ‘Moln’? There are probably a hundred reasons on why choosing Boye but the simple truth is that I more or less stumbled over her poetry by accident. I was just home one day, and out of boredom I picked a book randomly from the bookshelf. That book was a collection of poems by Karin Boye. I opened it up and read the first one, a poem called ’Moln’. It struck me like lightning. The words had such a strong impact on me and as I read along I kept hearing this music in my head. I picked up the nearest instrument, my banjo, and started playing the song. I’ve lived with the song quite some time now and watched it grow and evolve. And here it is.”

Kayla Diamond – ‘What You’re Made Of’

‘What You’re Made Of’ is the latest offering from singer-songwriter Kayla Diamond. Written as an ode to growing up and moving away from family, the euphoric track allows her vocals to shine over a slick beat with EDM undertones. The track forms part of her forthcoming EP Beautiful Chaos. Before launching her music career, Kayla was set to train to become a lawyer, however, with her incredible talent and musicality it’s safe to say that she found the right career path in the end.

What’s been your favourite new music release this week? Let us know on Twitter @CelebMix

Written by Katrina Rees

I'm Katrina, or Kat to pretty much everyone. I'm an editor for CelebMix, a content writer, a boyband lover and an all round music fanatic.
Twitter: @lifeofkatrina