new music

New Music Round Up – 18/04/17

Welcome back to our weekly New Music Round Up!

On Friday, we were treated to world class releases from DNCE and Nicki Minaj, Noah Cyrus, John Mayer, and Tinie Tempah. However, there were also a number of songs and videos which may have slipped under your radar. With it also being the Easter weekend, we’re going to guess that some of you were far too busy digesting chocolate eggs to digest the ton of new music that’s been released.

Whether that’s the case or not, never fear, CelebMix is here once again to fill up your day with some brand new tunes you might have missed. Without further ado, here’s some of our favourite song and video releases from the past week.

Steps  – ‘You Make Me Whole’

Ahead of the release of their new album, Tears On The Dancefloor, Steps have released another teaser. ‘You Make Me Whole’ is available as an instant grat track for those who have pre-ordered the album. The dancefloor track is a hit with us, and makes us excited for even more new music from Steps on April 21!

Avante Black – ‘Make A Mess’

Avante Black is back with a new single called ‘Make A Mess’. The compelling alt-pop track “tells it straight about the moment when you’?re breaking up with someone and realize it’s not fixable”. Avante Black is the project led by Ottilia Zimmerman Kjulsten, a 22-year-old Swedish native living in London, alongside fellow Swede Emil, Italian Gabs and British drummer Dean.

Stream ‘Make A Mess’ here.

The Island Club – ‘Paper Kiss’

The five piece band from Brighton recently dropped the video for their indie-pop track ‘Paper Kiss’. According to the band, the video shows “the corruption of money and how it can change people”, which is represented by the band performing to an audience of desk-bound workers whose hunger for money stops them from even noticing that they are there.

Download and stream ‘Paper Kiss’ now.

CULAN – ‘Easy To Love You’

Half English/Jamaican dancehall singer/songwriter and producer Culan has released his debut track ‘Easy To Love You’. The artist recently gained notoriety from his refix of Ed Sheeran’s ‘Shape of You’, which has since amassed over seven million listens. Now, it’s time for Culan to shine in his own right, with his slick blend of electronic-RnB.

Joseph of Mercury – ‘Find You Inside’

Toronto-based artist Joseph of Mercury is back with a new track called ‘Find You Inside’. Premiered by Popdust, the vintage sounding track takes inspiration from artists such as David Bowie, Roy Orbison, Leonard Cohen and Morrissey.

HALFBROTHER – ‘Love Letter’

Although ‘Love Letter’ was initially released last month, HALFBROTHER (made up of Murkage Dave and Patrick Scally) have finally unveiled its accompanying music video. Directed by the award-winning designer and art director Kate Moross (Dazed & Confused, Vogue, NYLON) the video premiered on PAPER.

Stream and download the track here.

Grace Mitchell – ‘Now’

Grace Mitchell has dropped the visual for her latest single, ‘Now’. Of the song, she said: “‘Now’ is about living your truest self and reveling in the glamour and chaos of the present moment.” The singer has a busy summer of festivals ahead of her. Grace made her debut at Coachella on Sunday, and will be performing again at the second leg later this month. She is also due to perform at Lollapalooza, Osheaga and more.

Download and stream the song here.

MisterWives – ‘Machine’

MisterWives have shared a Mad Max style video for their track ‘Machine’, which is the lead single from their forthcoming new album Connect The Dots, out on May 19. The epic video matches the song’s powerful message and is set to firmly place them as one to watch. You may already be familiar with MisterWives as they’re currently supporting Panic! At The Disco on their North American tour.

‘Machine’ is available here.

The King’s Parade – ‘Haze’

‘Haze’ is the first single from The King’s Parade new EP Haze, due on May 12. Of the song, they said: “‘Haze’ describes the feeling of helplessness when you fall hard for someone. You’re drawn in and you indulge yourself in the moment. You surrender to that feeling and see where it takes you.”

Stream ‘Haze’ here.

Ryos – ‘Discover Love’ featuring Envy Monroe

‘Discover Love’ is the latest track from Ryos, a young US-based producer. Teaming up with Envy More, ‘Discover Love’ is a thumping dance/EDM track which is sure to be a hit on dancefloors across the world. Having already received support from music giants such as Hardwell and Nicky Romero, we’re certain that Ryos has a bright future ahead of him.

‘Discover Love’ is available now.

Flatdisk and Gil Sanders – ‘Lost’ featuring Jacob Wellfair

Italian duo Flatdisk have teamed up with Gil Sanders and Jacob Wellfair for their latest offering, ‘Lost’. The track is a slick dance track, which has been released on Dutch label Big & Dirty. Again, we reckon this track is going to be played loud and proud on dancefloors across the globe – we’re already bopping along to it!

‘Lost’ is available now.

Fiona Silver – ‘Take Me Down’

Fiona Silver recently dropped the official video for her debut single ‘Take Me Down’. Premiered via Popdust, the visual has a vintage setting with a modern twist. ‘Take Me Down’ is taken from Fiona’s forthcoming album, Little Thunder, which is due to drop later this year.

Julian Fulton – ‘Howl’

‘Howl’ is the first single from Julian Fulton’s forthcoming five-track EP. Battered Receptions, which is due for release on May 12. ‘Howl’ forms part of his genre-bending vision and proves to be a roaring track with the simple message of, ‘Don’t give up’. Julian said, “‘Howl’ is a call to arms to both the beaten and the apathetic to make themselves heard, no matter how insurmountable the corruption or opposition appears, or how pointless it seems.”

What’s been your favourite new music release this week? Let us know on Twitter @CelebMix


Written by Katrina Rees

I'm Katrina, or Kat to pretty much everyone. I'm an editor for CelebMix, a content writer, a boyband lover and an all round music fanatic.
Twitter: @lifeofkatrina