selena gomez

Selena Gomez releases ‘Back To You’, taken from 13 Reasons Why Soundtrack

Selena Gomez is back with a brand new track called ‘Back To You’, taken from the soundtrack to the forthcoming second season of 13 Reasons Why in which Selena serves as an executive producer.

The electro-pop offering is an upbeat post-break up song which sees Selena deal with regret and heartbreak. However, despite the mistakes made and the hurt caused, she acknowledges that she would relive it all with her partner if she could.

I wanna hold you when I’m not supposed to
When I’m lying close to someone else
You’re stuck in my head and I can’t get you out of it
If I could do it all again
I know I’d go back to you

Speaking about the track with Zane Lowe, Selena said: “I want it to be a beautiful message in a really complicated way but really fun. But I think that “Back To You” is more of my special project that I wanted to give to Season 2.”

Check out the official lyric video for ‘Back To You’ below, which also features exclusive footage from the forthcoming series of 13 Reasons Why.

‘Back To You’ is one of 20 tracks to appear on the soundtrack to season two of 13 Reasons Why. Due for release on May 18, the soundtrack will also feature a new song from OneRepublic & Logic, in addition to tracks from Billie Eilish & Khalid, YUNGBLUD & Charlotte Lawrence, and Colouring.

13 Reasons Why Soundtrack Tracklist

  1. ‘Back To You’ – Selena Gomez
  2. ‘lovely’ – Billie Eilish & Khalid
  3. ‘Start Again’ – OneRepublic featuring Logic
  4. ‘Falling Skies’ – YUNGBLUD featuring Charlotte Lawrence
  5. ‘The Night We Met’ – Lord Huron featuring Phoebe Bridgers
  6. ‘Tangled Up’ – Parade of Lights
  7. ‘Time’ – Colouring
  8. ‘My Kind Of Love’ – Leon Else
  9. ‘Your Love’ – HAERTS
  10. ‘Love Vigilantes’ – New Order
  11. ‘The Killing Moon’ – Echo & The Bunnymen
  12. ‘Promise Not To Fall’ – Human Touch
  13. ‘Sanctify’ – Years & Years
  14. ‘Tin Pan Boy’ – YUNGBLUD
  15. ‘Souvenir’ – Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark
  16. ‘Watch Me Bleed’ – Tears For Fears
  17. ‘Cities In Dust’ – Siouxsie & The Banshees
  18. ‘Of Lacking Spectacle’ – Gus Dapperton
  19. ‘Falling (In Dreams)’ – Telekinesis
  20. ‘Strength’ – The Alarm

Selena’s ‘Back To You’ is available now, whilst the 13 Reasons Why soundtrack can be pre-ordered here.

Season two of 13 Reasons Why and its soundtrack will be available on May 18.

Let us know your thoughts on Selena Gomez’ new track on Twitter @CelebMix

Written by Katrina Rees

I'm Katrina, or Kat to pretty much everyone. I'm an editor for CelebMix, a content writer, a boyband lover and an all round music fanatic.
Twitter: @lifeofkatrina