years & years

Years & Years announce their second album ‘Palo Santo’

Years & Years have finally confirmed details of their highly anticipated second album, Palo Santo. The album will be released on July 6 via Polydor Records, and will include the previously released ‘Sanctify’.

Palo Santo Tracklist

  1. Sanctify
  2. Hallelujah
  3. All For You
  4. Karma
  5. Hypnotised
  6. Rendezvous
  7. If You’re Over Me
  8. Preacher
  9. Lucky Escape
  10. Palo Santo
  11. Here (Interlude)
  12. Howl (Bonus Track)
  13. Don’t Panic (Bonus Track)
  14. Up In Flames (Bonus Track)

The trio announced the album alongside the first official trailer for their short film of the same name. The Palo Santo trailer stars frontman Olly Alexander and cult Thai actor Vithaya Pansringarm, and features a voiceover from the iconic Academy Award-winning actress Dame Judi Dench.

According to a press release, Palo Santo  “takes its name from a sacred wood but, in the densely woven fictional backstory of the music video and short film, Palo Santo has also become a city on a distant planet, on which human beings are a rare commodity, worshipped and idolized by an android society. Olly, along with the final humans, is recruited to perform in a series of bizarre erotic cabarets, for an artificial master known only as The Showman.”

Years & Years made a welcome return to the music scene in March with the release of ‘Sanctify’, which gives us a little taste of what we can expect from their forthcoming album. Palo Santo will showcase the band’s growth and development, and features a wide range of collaborators including Greg Kurstin, Julia Michaels, Justin Tranter, Steve Mac and Sarah Hudson.

Fans can expect an ambitious offering which takes pop music to another level. As usual, Olly, Emre and Mikey are pushing their musical boundaries, sharing their most intimate stories whilst creating a community where “the minority is always the majority, and everyone is welcome”.

Pre-order Palo Santo here. If you pre-order a copy of the album from the official Years & Years webstore, you will get exclusive first access to tickets to the band’s forthcoming soon-to-be announced UK shows.

Are you excited for Years & Years’ new album? Let us know on Twitter @CelebMix

Written by Katrina Rees

I'm Katrina, or Kat to pretty much everyone. I'm an editor for CelebMix, a content writer, a boyband lover and an all round music fanatic.
Twitter: @lifeofkatrina