ALBUM REVIEW: The Shires ‘My Universe’

The UK country music scene is currently at an all time high in Britain at the moment, and with Ward Thomas becoming the first homegrown act to top the album charts the genre is only getting stronger. And now UK country music pioneers The Shires are back with their brand new album ‘My Universe’.

Since their debut album ‘Brave‘ was released in 2015 the group have gone from strength to strength and last year they were the biggest selling country act in Britain (including US artists), they were also the first British country act to have a top ten album.

Now the record breaking duo are back with their brilliant new LP ‘My Universe’, which features some absolutely fantastic tracks.

The new album will no doubt appeal to both country and pop music fans, and the pair have worked with renowned producer Kip Moore on the album which was recorded at the prestigious recording studio Sound Stage in Nashville which has made records for some of the biggest country acts the world has ever seen, including Lady Antebellum and Carrie Underwood amongst others.

The LP is filled with beautiful songs and the title track ‘My Universe’ which is inspired by the birth of Ben Earle’s first son and the anniversary of Crissie Rhodes’ father’s death, is a truly fantastic country song that has the potential to become a huge hit around the world. Another standout out song is the stunning ‘Naked’ which is about allowing your partner see the best and worst of you.

Ben and Crissie’s harmonies are beautiful on ‘Daddy’s Little Girl’ which is a really sweet ballad about the love a father and daughter share, and also on the track ‘Common Language’.

You can really tell how much growth the band have had since 2015 and this LP will without doubt be a huge hit and will no doubt chart higher than their debut release.

RATING: 4/5.

The full tracklist for ‘My Universe’ is as follows:

1 My Universe
2 Beats To Your Rhythm
3 Not Even Drunk Right Now
4 Naked
5 Drive
6 Daddy’s Little Girl
7 Everything You Never Gave
8 Save Me
9 Common Language
10 A Thousand Hallelujahs
11 Other People’s Things
12 Desperate

My Universe’ is due for release on September 30th and is available for pre-order now.

Make sure you keep your eyes peeled on Celeb Mix as we will be having an exclusive chat with The Shires very soon! 

Are you excited for The Shires new album? Let us know your thoughts over on Twitter @CelebMix


Written by Laura Klonowski

Qualified music journalist! Writing single/album/live reviews, feature articles, interviews, and news pieces.
Twitter: @cherylssoldier1
Instagram: @musicandtournews