5 seconds of summer

5 Seconds of Summer get reflective on new track ‘Old Me’

5 Seconds of Summer continue their new era of music with the reflective ‘Old Me’.

The track sees the band contemplate their growth as individuals, with vocalist Luke singing “Shout out to the old me and everything you showed me / glad you didn’t listen when the world was trying to slow me.”

Speaking about the new song, Luke said: “‘Old Me’ carries a youthful spirit and follows the narrative of a young persons life growing up, for better or for worse. Every decision we made, whether right or wrong, has led us to the men we are proud to be today. We were thrown into the public eye at a young age and gratefully had each other at a confusing time. Sometimes it’s important we look back in order to appreciate the journey we’ve been on together.”

Check out the lyric video for ‘Old Me’ below.

‘Old Me’ is taken from 5 Seconds of Summer’s forthcoming album CALM. The album also includes the previously released ‘Easier’, ‘Teeth’, and ‘No Shame’.

CALM Tracklist

1. ‘Red Desert’
2. ‘No Shame’
3. ‘Old Me’
4. ‘Easier’
5. ‘Teeth’
6. ‘Wildflower’
7. ‘Best Years’
8. ‘Not In The Same Way’
9. ‘Lover Of Mine’
10. ‘Thin White Lies’
11. ‘Lonely Heart’
12. ‘High’

5 Seconds of Summer will be embarking on the No Shame tour throughout 2020, with dates in North America, Mexico and the UK already announced. Check out a full list of tour dates here.

What do you think of ‘Old Me’? Let us know your thoughts on 5 Seconds of Summer and their latest release on Twitter @CelebMix

Written by Katrina Rees

I'm Katrina, or Kat to pretty much everyone. I'm an editor for CelebMix, a content writer, a boyband lover and an all round music fanatic.
Twitter: @lifeofkatrina
Email: katrinanaomirees@gmail.com