Strictly Come Dancing0

Greg Rutherford, Lesley Joseph and Tameka Empson complete Strictly Come Dancing line-up

With the latest series of Strictly Come Dancing just around the corner, we finally know the complete class of 2016 line-up.

Earlier tonight, Olympian Greg Rutherford, Birds of a Feather actress Lesley Joseph and Eastenders star Tameka Empson were confirmed as the final three contestants.

Fresh from winning a bronze medal in the long jump at the Rio Olympics, Greg will now be going for gold during Strictly. He said, “I love being challenged and taking to the Strictly ballroom is like nothing I have ever done before. Doing this is definitely a long jump from my day job for sure!”

Lesley Joseph, famed for playing Dorien Green in Birds of a Feather added: “Strictly is an iconic show and I have always loved the glamour and the dedication and the entertainment and this year it suddenly seemed right to take part.” At 70 years of age, she is this year’s oldest contestant. She said: “I am scared and excited and apprehensive and thrilled to be a part of this wonderful show and I will try my best and enjoy this amazing experience!”

Eastenders actress Tameka Empson explained that being on Strictly has been a long-term dream of hers. “I have been waiting for years to take part in Strictly and I’m so excited that finally I get to show the nation my moves! It’s always been a dream and I can’t wait to get started!”

Earlier today, Judge Robert Rinder was also added to the line up. Famous for his reality show Judge Rinder, he said: “The only thing I knew would make my grandmother more proud than watching my TV courtroom was to see me dressed up in white tie doing the Foxtrot.”

The four newly-announced names complete a line-up of famous faces who have been announced over the past few weeks.

Strictly Come Dancing Class of 2016

  1. Ed Balls, former shadow chancellor
  2. Will Young, singer
  3. Laura Whitmore, TV presenter
  4. Ore Oduba, sports broadcaster
  5. Melvin Odoom, TV and radio presenter
  6. Louise Redknapp, singer
  7. Danny Mac, actor
  8. Daisy Lowe, model and actress
  9. Naga Munchetty, BBC Breakfast host
  10. Anastacia, singer
  11. Claudia Fragapane, Olympic gymnast
  12. Judge Rinder, TV judge
  13. Lesley Joseph, actress
  14. Greg Rutherford, Olympic long jump
  15. Tameka Empson, actress

The 15 contestants will take to the Strictly dancefloor in the hope of impressing judges Craig Revel-Horwood, Bruno Tonioli, Darcey Bussell and Len Goodman, who will quit the show after this series. One of the celebrities will win the coveted Strictly glitterball, and take the crown from current winner Jay McGuiness.

The new series of Strictly Come Dancing will start next month. Who are you rooting for this year? Let us know on Twitter @CelebMix.

photo credit: BBC

Written by Katrina Rees

I'm Katrina, or Kat to pretty much everyone. I'm an editor for CelebMix, a content writer, a boyband lover and an all round music fanatic.
Twitter: @lifeofkatrina