End of the World announce a collaboration with Marvel Comics to create custom comic book and a seven-part series on YouTube Premium

Japanese pop band Sekai No Owari, also known as End of the World are one of the biggest music acts in Japan. Comprising of Nakajin (group leader, lead guitar, sound production), Fukase (lead vocals, group conceptualist), Saori (stage production, piano), and the masked clown DJ LOVE (sonic palette, comedic stage banter), End of the World have conquered Japan, scoring nine top 10 singles in the Billboard Japan Hot 100, four of them no.1’s, and perform sold-out stadium tours, including two shows at the 140,000 seat Nissan Stadium. They also supported Clean Bandit on their tour of the USA last year, playing headline shows at The Roxy in Los Angeles and The Bowery Ballroom in New York along the way.

Now, the J-pop megastars have announced their forthcoming collaboration with Marvel Comics to create a custom comic book and the seven-part series on YouTube premium. The announcement was made on Comic Con.

Titled “Re: Imagine”, the series shows a beautiful collision between music and art”. While music is used as a source of entertainment, there are some artists who also become a source of survival and strength for the listeners. End of the World are known to produce music that addresses complicated themes so their “comic” personas will surely resonate with people who find solace in their art.

The making of the comic will be turned into a seven-part documentary, to be streamed on YouTube Premium, with the first three episodes available to stream from December 11th with the final episode. DJ Love will be seen as Crack, Saori as Dreamweaver, Nakajin as Needleman, Fukase as Lost Man.

The launch of this comic and series is yet another example of the band’s innovate artistic outlook. Always looking to merge their music with other art forms, this latest collaboration with the legendary Marvel Comics adds another string to End of the World’s impressive artistic bow. Their innovative, never say die spirit matches that of many of Marvel’s heroes and the comic’s story reflects this, beginning at the band’s origin at clubEARTH – the club/venue they built themselves in downtown Tokyo.

Episode Rollout Dates

11.12.18 Episode 1,2,3

18.12.18 Episode 4

25.12.18 Episode 5

08.01.19 Episode 6

So, are you excited for the series? Share your thoughts via tweet @CelebMix.

Written by Ayushi

Hi! I am Ayushi from India. The only thing that is consistent about me is my passion for writing and reading. Weaving words to form a story is the best thing I know and the only thing I want to do.
"Writer by nature is a dreamer, a conscious dreamer."
-Carson McCullers

If you want, you can follow me on Twitter using the handle @ayushidelhi1996