Kasia Mos Wins Poland’s National Selection To Eurovision 2017 with “Flashlight”

Last night, Poland crowned Kasia Mos the winner of Krajowe Eliminacje 2017, the Polish national selection show to Eurovision 2017. She will be jetting off to Kyiv, Ukraine in May to represent Poland with her song “Flashlight”.

The final took place last night, which saw 10 competitors fight it out to represent the country. Kasia Mos came out on top with her powerful voice and incredibly catchy song. She performed well, giving the song her all, whilst completely controlling it.

Kasia Mos looked stunning on the stage in a gorgeous translucent dress. She worked the crowd as she sang “Flashlight”. This isn’t the first time she’s attempted to represent Poland at Eurovision. Last year, she came sixth in the national selection final with “Addiction”.

Watch Eurovision’s Kasia Mos Perform “Flashlight” Here:

The song itself was written by Kasia Mos, Pete Baringger, and Rickard Bonde Truumeel. She won the jury vote and earned 10 points, she came second in the televote which earned her nine points; therefore she came out on top beating Rafal Brzozowski and televote favourite Carmel, who came second and third respectively. Also in this national selection was Aneta Sablik, who previously had international fame with the song “The One”; she came ninth overall.

We believe this might do well at this year’s Eurovision. Poland has never won the Eurovision Song Contest. They came second when they debuted in 1994, and have only ever been in the top 10, the last time being last year with Michal Szpak, who sang “Color of Your Life”. He came third in the public vote, but he didn’t score many points through jury voting, which placed him eighth overall.

Kasia Mos is hoping to beat last year’s position, and with a song like this one she could go all the way and be Poland’s first winner. However, she’ll have to beat the other countries. The acts who have been announced so far are: Cyprus’ HovigThe Netherlands’ O’G3NEBelgium’s BlancheMacedonia’s Jana BurceskaAzerbaijan’s DiHaj, Ireland’s Brendan MurrayAustria’s Nathan TrentAlbania’s LinditaArmenia’s ArtsvikMontenegro’s Slavko KalezicGreece’s Demy, Georgia’s Tako GachechiladzeBelarus’ NaviThe United Kingdom’s Lucie JonesFinland’s Norma JohnSwitzerland’s Timebelle, Germany’s Levina, France’s Alma, Spain’s Manel NavarroItaly’s Francesco Gabbani Israel’s Imri Ziv, Czech Republic’s Martina BartaCroatia’s Jacques Houdek, and Malta’s Claudia Faniello.

The Eurovision Song Contest 2017 will be hosted in Kyiv, Ukraine; after Jamala won last year’s contest with “1944”. The semi-finals are set to take place on 9 May and 11 May, with the Grand Final happening on 13 May 2017.

Who do you think will win? Has Poland got a chance with this song? Let us know all your thoughts on Twitter @CelebMix.

Written by Jonathan Currinn

Writer, blogger, author, and journalist. Graduated from Staffordshire University in 2015. I write under the name Critic Jonni, on my blog. I also write for Fuzzable. In the past, I have written for the Daily Star, Channillo, Outlet Magazine, SPECTRUMM, Fox & Squirrel Photography, Modern Magazine, and Electric Mode. Follow me on all socials under the handle: @CriticJonni. Email me at jonathancurrinn@gmail.com also, if you want, you can buy me a virtual coffee: https://ko-fi.com/jonathancurrinn