Michelle Branch returns to music scene with ‘Hopeless Romantic’

After a far-too-long hiatus, Michelle Branch, queen of creating the greatest 2K jams pop music had to offer, is back with her latest song “Hopeless Romantic.”

The track, co-written and co-produced by The Black Keys drummer and now-boyfriend Patrick Carney, is the lead single off of Branch’s third studio album due out in April.

“Hopeless Romantic” is different than the “Everywhere” singer’s early sound that we are familiar with, but not necessarily a bad different. It’s impossible not to be reeled in by her smooth vocals and raw, alluring lyrics such as “Everything is dangerous when it’s just the two of us/Jumping in over our heads.” Singing about the aftermath one is left to deal with after falling despairingly for someone, the 33-year-old songstress is equipped with a much more mature look at love and life. We wouldn’t expect anything less, given this is Branch’s first record in 14 years.

“I love hearing human stories about people interacting with each other, and the title perfectly sums up the record,” Branch spoke of her upcoming album in a press release. A lot of these songs are about heartbreak, but knowing that it doesn’t mean the end of the world, it just means letting go and moving on and knowing that you’re going to find something better, as hard as that is.”

We also got a glimpse of the tracklist for Branch’s anticipated new album, which is seemingly headed in a gratifying, funky blues-rock direction.

  1. Best You Ever
  2. You’re Good
  3. Fault Line
  4. Heartbreak Now
  5. Hopeless Romantic
  6. Living a Lie
  7. Knock Yourself Out
  8. Temporary Feeling
  9. Carry Me Home
  10. Not A Love Song
  11. Last Night
  12. Bad Side
  13. Shadow
  14. City

You can listen to “Hopeless Romantic” below.

Don’t forget to tweet us your thoughts, @CelebMix.

Written by Cayla Masters

Music, pop culture and cheesesteak lover. Follow me on Twitter, @caylamasters