Discover: Duncan Laurence releases the music video for “Arcade”

Duncan de Moor, known professionally as Duncan Laurence has finally revealed the music video for his single “Arcade”. The singer-songwriter is set to represent the Netherlands at Eurovision Song Content 2019.

On March 7th, Laurence released an exquisite music video for his representative single. Written and composed in collaboration with Joel Sjöö and Wouter Hardy, “Arcade” has already garnered over 3.3 Million views on YouTube.

The heart wrenching single narrates the story of unrequited love and depicts the emptiness loneliness brings. Comparing the emotion of love with the game of the arcade, Laurence showcases how harmfully addictive love can be. But at the same time, he also shares the belief that if one is hopeful, they will eventually find their true love.

Talking about the single, Duncan said: “I’m always inspired by stories that move me, real personal experiences from my own life or someone else’s. Arcade was inspired by the story of someone I loved deeply, who died at a young age. The words, chords and melodies came to me automatically as if they fell from the sky. When Joel Sjöö and Wouter Hardy helped me finish the song it got a much larger scope. It changed from a very personal story to a story that everyone can connect to. Arcade is a song about longing… longing for love… longing for something that seems out of reach. And it speaks of hope. Hope, that you will find what you need in life.”

In terms of musicality, this ballad creates a contrast with a lot of singles competing in the competition. Grounding his concept and narrative on “simplicity”, the artist has focused on enhancing the visibility of his vocal prowess and the intensity of the background, giving his single a much needed emotional depth.

All acts of the acts have now been announced, they are Srbuk for ArmeniaTamta for CyprusJonida Maliqi for AlbaniaEliot for BelgiumMiki for SpainSerhat for San MarinoDuncan Laurence for The NetherlandsTamara Todevska for North MacedoniaMichela Pace for MaltaBilal Hassani for FranceLake Malawi for the Czech RepublicPÆNDA for AustriaDarude feat. Sebastian Rejman for FinlandMichael Rice for the United KingdomSergey Lazarev for RussiaMahmood for ItalyKate Miller-Heidke for AustraliaD-Moll for Montenegro, Kobi Marimi for IsraelKaterine Duska for GreeceJoci Pápai for HungaryJurijus for LithuaniaLeonora for DenmarkS!sters for GermanyEster Peony for RomaniaVictor Crone for EstoniaRoko for CroatiaCarousel for LatviaTulia for PolandHatari for IcelandZala Kralj & Gašper Šantl for SloveniaKEiiNO for NorwayNevena Bozovic for SerbiaConan Osíris for PortugalOto Nemsadze for GeorgiaAnna Odobescu for MoldovaLuca Hänni for SwitzerlandJohn Lundvik for SwedenZena for BelarusSarah McTernan for Ireland, and Chingiz for Azerbaijan.

The 2019 Eurovision Song Contest will be hosted at the Expo Tel Aviv in Israel after Netta won last year with the song “Toy”. The two Semi-Finals will take place on 14 May and 16 May with the Grand Final taking place on 18 May. A total of 41 countries will compete in the contest.

What do you think about the single? Share your thoughts via tweet @CelebMix?

Written by Ayushi

Hi! I am Ayushi from India. The only thing that is consistent about me is my passion for writing and reading. Weaving words to form a story is the best thing I know and the only thing I want to do.
"Writer by nature is a dreamer, a conscious dreamer."
-Carson McCullers

If you want, you can follow me on Twitter using the handle @ayushidelhi1996