Ukraine selects Go_A for Eurovision Song Contest 2020

Ukraine has found its representative for this year’s Eurovision Song Contest. Making the selection through the national selection show Vidbir 2020, the country has chosen Go_A to go to Rotterdam on May 14.

The electro-folk band was awarded 12 points by the Jury and the voting audiences. Formed in 2012, Go_A released their debut album in 2016 but have been gaining popularity for their unique musical mixture since long before. Known for blending different styles, the band has been representing Ukrainian music across the globe.

Go_A will be representing their country with a Ukrainian song “Solovey”, making it a first entirely non-English language entry from the country in Eurovision Song Contest history. Backed by trap music with flute making a dominant impression, the song is catchy and grabs the listener’s attention. It was penned by Kateryna Pavlenko and composed by Kateryna Pavlenko and Taras Shevchenko. It will be interesting to see how audiences will respond to the performance during the semi-finals.

The Eurovision 2020 acts that have been announced so far are Blas Cantó for SpainHooverphonic for BelgiumVICTORIA for BulgariaSandro for CyprusVincent Bueno for AustriaArilena Ara for AlbaniaTornike Kipiani for GeorgiaJeangu Macrooy for the NetherlandsVasil for North MacedoniaTom Leeb for FranceBenny Cristo for the Czech RepublicEden Alene for IsraelStefania for GreeceMontaigne for AustraliaSamanta Tina for LatviaDiodato for ItalyDestiny Chukunyere for MaltaRoxen for RomaniaTHE ROOP for LithuaniaUlrikke Brandstorp for NorwayAthena Manoukian for ArmeniaAlicja Szemplinska for PolandJames Newman for the UKSamira Efendi for AzerbaijanAna Soklic for SloveniaBen Dolic for GermanyUku Suviste for EstoniaDaði og Gagnamagnið for IcelandNatalie Gordienko for Moldova, and Ben & Tan for Denmark. The remaining countries are expected to reveal their acts and songs in the coming days.

The 65th edition of Eurovision Song Contest will be hosted at the Rotterdam Ahoy, Rotterdam, The Netherlands after Duncan Laurence won the 2019 contest with the song “Arcade”. The two Semi-Finals will take place on 12 May 2020 and 14 May 2020, with the Grand Final taking place on 16 May 2020. A total of 41 countries will compete in the contest.

Share your thoughts on Ukraine’s selection via Twitter @CelebMix.

Written by Ayushi

Hi! I am Ayushi from India. The only thing that is consistent about me is my passion for writing and reading. Weaving words to form a story is the best thing I know and the only thing I want to do.
"Writer by nature is a dreamer, a conscious dreamer."
-Carson McCullers

If you want, you can follow me on Twitter using the handle @ayushidelhi1996