Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real
Photo Credit: Alysse Gafkjen

Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real Release New Single “Leave ‘Em Behind”

American country rock group Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real, have delighted fans around the world this weekend with the release of their brand new single, Leave ‘Em Behind.

Serving as the second single to be unveiled from the band’s highly anticipated new album, A Few Stars Apart (set for release June 11th via Fantasy Records) the highly emotional, poignant track encourages listeners to let go of any harmful or abusive relationships they maybe experiencing in their lives.

Of the song, Nelson says: “‘Leave ‘Em Behind’ is one of my favourite tracks on the album. I wrote it about a friend who was in an abusive relationship… and as we saw the domestic abuse numbers climb during the pandemic, I was moved to write this song.”

Listen to Leave ’em Behind below:

Produced by Grammy Award winning producer Dave Cobb (Lady Gaga, Chris Stapleton, Brandi Carlile), A Few Stars Apart was inspired by the stillness Lukas Nelson experienced whilst living through the beginning stages of the Coronavirus pandemic with his family in Texas.

Recorded live over the space of three weeks on an eight-track tape at Nashville’s historic RCA Studio A, the record is described as being that of a collection of songs, written and recorded to help find a “human connection: between close family and friends, as well as one’s own heart”.

“I’m from what one might say is the ultimate road family – I’ve been on the road my entire life.” Nelson shares in a press release accompanying news of the records upcoming launch. “I’ve never been anywhere longer than three months, and suddenly here we are, the four of us together. And thank god we were together. I can’t remember the last time we had that much time together as a family. We had a lot of really important bonding that happened during that time. And I have to say, as terrible as the pandemic has been in so many ways, for my inner peace, I was able to take a lot of good from this time. I was able to pause and reflect.”

“It took me a really long time to come back to the home in my heart. In a physical sense, that’s Texas and Hawaii. But in a spiritual sense as well—I think I finally decided not to run from who I am and who I am destined to be. First and foremost, that’s a songwriter. That’s what this record means to me. There’s a story being told through the whole record. A story about connection and coming home.”

Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real
Photo Credit: Alysse Gafkjen


1. We’ll Be Alright
2. Perennial Bloom (Back To You)
3. Throwin’ Away Your Love
4. A Few Stars Apart
5. No Reason
6. Leave ‘em Behind
7. Wildest Dream
8. Giving You Away
9. Hand Me A Light
10. More Than We Can Handle
11. Smile

A Few Stars Apart is available for pre-order here.

Let us know your thoughts on Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real over on Twitter @CelebMix now!

Written by Philip Logan

Twitter & IG: @philip_logan