new music round up

New Music Round Up – 08/08/17

Welcome back to yet another New Music Round Up! We can’t quite cope with how fast 2017 is disappearing in front of our eyes, however, there’s no time to waste as our favourite music artists are fast and furiously releasing incredible new tracks for our enjoyment.

Leading this week’s round up is pop princess Camila Cabello. Not content with releasing one track, she has treated us to a summer double feature in the form of ‘Havana’ featuring Young Thug and ‘OMG’ featuring Quavo.

Also on our radar this week is Bebe Rexha, who dropped the star-studded ‘That’s It’. DNCE and Nicki Minaj teamed up with Luis Fonsi for a Spanglish remix of ‘Kissing Strangers’, whilst PVRIS also released new music. Additionally, we heard new tracks from Daphne Willis, John Parry and AMERY.

As with every week, we’ve got plenty more to share with you! Here’s seven of the hottest new music releases to get your ears around.

Kesha – ‘Hymn’

Ahead of the release of her new album, Rainbow, on Friday, Kesha has unveiled another new track. ‘Hymn’ is an uplifting track which offers “a hymn for the hymn-less,” and was released along with an original essay published on Mic. Speaking about the track, she said: “This song is dedicated to all the idealistic people around the world who refuse to turn their backs on progress, love and equality whenever they are challenged. It’s dedicated to the people who went out into the streets all over the world to protest against racism, hate and division of any kind. It’s also dedicated to anyone who feels like they are not understood by the world or respected for exactly who they are. It’s a hopeful song about all of these people — which I consider myself one of — and the power that we all have when we all come together.”

Kungs – ‘More Mess’ featuring Olly Murs and Coely

French house DJ and producer Kungs has teamed up with Olly Murs and Coely for his new track, ‘More Mess’. The song is a feel-good offering with infectious brass sections. Speaking about the collaboration, Olly said: “It’s great to be a part of Kungs’ latest single More MessI was a huge fan of his single ‘This Girl’ so to be asked to collaborate on this song was great fun.  It’s a really upbeat song with a great horn line, and something I wish I’d written myself!” ‘More Mess’ is definitely a late contender for song of the summer!

Felix Jaehn and Mike Williams – ‘Feel Good’

Following on from the electric ‘Hot2Touch’ featuring Alex Aiono, Felix Jaehn is going back to his roots with his new single. ‘Feel Good’ is his latest offering, which sees him team up with Dutch DJ/producer Mike Williams. The track sees both artists blend their characteristic sounds with a catchy melody. We think it’s certain to be a huge dancefloor track thanks to its fun vibe

Mullally – ‘She Don’t Know Me’

Mullally is back with a new single called ‘She Don’t Know Me’, his first release since signing to Atlantic Records. Talking about the track, he said: “The meaning behind the song is the slight acknowledgment of someone’s presence but the total dismissal of their importance.  It’s about having someone in your life that champions all others. It’s the energy, the connection and the relationship dynamism that plays between these three people. It’s saying that no one really compares.”

Kele Okereke – ‘Grounds For Resentment’ featuring Olly Alexander

Bloc Party’s Kele Okereke has teamed up with Years & Years’ Olly Alexander for a jazzy duet which talks of a romance between two men from two different perspectives. Speaking about the track, Kele said: “I remember reading something that [Olly] wrote about the use of pronouns in pop music for gay artists that I thought that was very perceptive and intelligent – that the use of pronouns was the last frontier for gay artists. There are lots of gay acts that avoid using the term he when singing about same sex desire. It will just be a neutral term, whereas Olly understands from what I read that there is a long way to go for gay musicians in being able to describe love and desire authentically. So I was very happy to sing a romantic duet with him on my album, because I couldn’t think of a precedent of any out gay musicians singing a love song to one another without having to hide behind codes.”

Glass House Point – ‘Creatures’

Glass House Point are back with a brand new single called ‘Creatures’. The indie rock band have delved into a new sound which is representative of what can be expected from their forthcoming EP. Speaking about the track, the band said: “We’ve been working on creating an entirely new sound. We wanted to make something that’s reflective of where we’ve been and where we are heading. “Creatures” is simply a song about human nature, about the pain and discomfort of moving forward and going separate ways. Lyrically, the song contemplates the past and the immediate future and poses questions about our innate attraction to both love and loss. Musically, the song is full of swelling dynamics, unexpected twists and textures, and some really massive moments. This song is bold, and it demands an ineffable sense of attention.”

David Versis – ‘Made For Me’

‘Made For Me’ is the slick new offering from David Versis, which premiered on Billboard. Speaking about the track’s purpose, Versis said it was meant as a way to “feel good and hits ‘refresh’ on the idea of a soulmate… Everybody talks game to get the girl, but this is about showcasing that same appreciation once you’ve got her.” He continued by saying “The intention of ‘Made For Me’ was to switch between different emotions, and tempos, in a way that’s intentional and fresh. Mikhail [the producer] and I wanted to mix down-tempo ‘trap’ percussion in the verses, and a more upbeat classic hip-hop swing in the chorus to highlight the individual vibes of each section.”

What was your favourite new music release this week? Let us know on Twitter @CelebMix

Written by Katrina Rees

I'm Katrina, or Kat to pretty much everyone. I'm an editor for CelebMix, a content writer, a boyband lover and an all round music fanatic.
Twitter: @lifeofkatrina