Jowst will represent Norway at Eurovision 2017

Jowst will represent Norway at the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest after winning Norway’s national selection – ‘Melodi Grand Prix’. He performed ‘Grab The Moment’ and impressed both the jury and the public watching the show. The jury voted only in the first round, with Jowst gaining four out of the ten votes available. After this, the public voted on the top four acts and Jowst was crowned the winner.

Jowst – also known as Joakin With Steen – is a DJ, music producer and songwriter from Norway. His Eurovision song ‘Grab The Moment’ is a catchy, up-tempo track with a very current feel to it. With so many ballads in this year’s contest this song could be one to watch out for.

Norway have won the contest on three occasions. Their most recent win came in 2009 when Alexander Rybak entered with his song ‘Fairytale’. Alexander held the record for scoring the highest number of points since the contest began. However, as the scoring system changed last year, there are now more points available, giving last year’s winner, Jamala, the record. ‘Fairytale’ is one of the most popular Eurovision songs from previous years and after failing to qualify for the final last year, Norway will be hoping they can once again top the leaderboard in May.

You can watch Jowst perform ‘Grab The Moment’ below:

The Eurovision Song Contest 2017 is set to be a competitive year once again. It will take place in Kyiv, Ukraine after Jamala won with “1944” last year.

With under three months to go, many countries have selected their acts for this year’s contest. These are the acts who have been announced so far: Cyprus’ HovigThe Netherlands’ O’G3NEBelgium’s BlancheMacedonia’s Jana BurceskaAzerbaijan’s DiHaj, Ireland’s Brendan MurrayAustria’s Nathan TrentAlbania’s LinditaArmenia’s ArtsvikMontenegro’s Slavko KalezicGreece’s Demy, Georgia’s Tako GachechiladzeBelarus’ NaviThe United Kingdom’s Lucie JonesFinland’s Norma JohnSwitzerland’s Timebelle, Germany’s Levina, France’s Alma, Spain’s Manel NavarroItaly’s Francesco GabbaniIsrael’s Imri Ziv, Czech Republic’s Martina BártaCroatia’s Jacques HoudekMalta’s Claudia FanielloPoland’s Kasia MosHungary’s Joci Pápai, Slovenia’s Omar NaberDenmark’s Anja NissenMoldova’s SunStroke ProjectUkraine’s O.TorvaldLatvia’s Triana ParkSerbia’s Tijana BogicevicEstonia’s Koit Toome & LauraRomania’s Ilinca feat. Alex Florea, Portugal’s Salvador SobralAustralia’s Isaiah, and Lithuania’s Fusedmarc.

The Eurovision Song Contest 2017 semi-finals will take place on 9 May 2017 and 11 May 2017, with the grand final expected to take place on 13 May 2017.

Let us know your thoughts on Norway’s selection. Do you think they have a chance of making the final and winning the competition? You can tweet us @CelebMix.

Written by Lynn Macgillivray

I'm Lynn - a writer, accountant and lover of all things music (especially a good boyband). Twitter: @xxitslynn
Email: lmacgillivray92@gmail.com