Serbia Has Announced Tijana Bogicevic As Their Eurovision 2017 Representative

Serbia has chosen their representative to the Eurovision Song Contest 2017 through internal selection. Tijana Bogicevic was announced as their act, although what she will be singing hasn’t been confirmed, just yet.

She has previously graced the Eurovision stage back in 2011, as the backing singer for Nina. She also attempted to represent Serbia in 2009 through their national selection show Beovizija 2009 but did not make it past the semi-finals.

Check Out Her Beovizija 2009 To Eurovision Performance Below:

Tijana Bogicevic currently resides in the US and must’ve come a long way since her 2009 national selection performance for Serbia to choose her to represent the country.

She has a few band sessions amongst other records on YouTube. She has covered AC/DC’s “You Shook Me All Night Long” and Angie Stone’s “Wish I Didn’t Miss You”. One of her most recent sessions was last year, where she sang her original song “Nekako Nikako”.

Check Out All The Sessions Here:

The song that she will be singing, will be officially announced next month in a televised event. Serbia debuted at Eurovision in 2007, that same year they won. Since then, they have made it in the top 20 whenever they made the Grand Final. They failed to make the Grand Final in 2009 and 2013. They did not compete in 2014. Since then, each act has sung in English, so we expect Tijana Bogicevic will follow suit. Last year, Serbia came 18th with 115 points; their act was Sanja Vucic ZAA, who sang “Goodbye (Shelter)”.

Does Tijana Bogicevic have the voice to win the Eurovision Song Contest 2017? It could all come down to the song she is singing. She’ll be competing against many diverse acts, from various countries. Announced so far are: Cyprus’ HovigThe Netherlands’ O’G3NEBelgium’s BlancheMacedonia’s Jana BurceskaAzerbaijan’s DiHaj, Ireland’s Brendan MurrayAustria’s Nathan TrentAlbania’s LinditaArmenia’s ArtsvikMontenegro’s Slavko KalezicGreece’s Demy, Georgia’s Tako GachechiladzeBelarus’ NaviThe United Kingdom’s Lucie JonesFinland’s Norma JohnSwitzerland’s Timebelle, Germany’s Levina, France’s Alma, Spain’s Manel NavarroItaly’s Francesco GabbaniIsrael’s Imri Ziv, Czech Republic’s Martina BartaCroatia’s Jacques HoudekMalta’s Claudia FanielloPoland’s Kasia MosHungary’s Joci Pápai, Slovenia’s Omar NaberDenmark’s Anja NissenMoldova’s SunStroke ProjectUkraine’s O.Torvald, and Latvia’s Triana Park.

After Jamala won with “1944”, last year, the contest will be held in Ukraine’s capital, Kyiv. The semi-finals will take place on 9 May and 11 May, with the Grand Final taking place on 13 May.

What do you make of Serbia’s Tijana Bogicevic? Who is your favourite so far? Let us know all your thoughts on Eurovision 2017 on Twitter @CelebMix.

Written by Jonathan Currinn

Writer, blogger, author, and journalist. Graduated from Staffordshire University in 2015. I write under the name Critic Jonni, on my blog. I also write for Fuzzable. In the past, I have written for the Daily Star, Channillo, Outlet Magazine, SPECTRUMM, Fox & Squirrel Photography, Modern Magazine, and Electric Mode. Follow me on all socials under the handle: @CriticJonni. Email me at jonathancurrinn@gmail.com also, if you want, you can buy me a virtual coffee: https://ko-fi.com/jonathancurrinn