new music round up

New Music Round Up – 12/12/17

Welcome back to one of the last New Music Round Ups of the year!

Camila Cabello heads up this week’s new releases, with not one but TWO tracks from her forthcoming debut album, Camila. ‘Never Be The Same’ and ‘Real Friends’ showcase two different sides to the songstress, and we can’t wait to hear more when she drops her album on January 12.

CelebMix favourite INNA has also been super busy this week. She dropped her new album Nirvana yesterday, however, she teased fans all week by releasing some of the tracks including ‘Tropical‘, ‘Hands Up‘, ‘My Dreams‘, ‘Dream About The Ocean‘, and ‘Lights’. We were also treated to new releases from Dove Cameron, White Lynx and Nora En Pure.

Even though we’re almost at the end of the year, we still want to share even more new songs with you. Here’s a bunch of must-listen to songs from the past week.

Charli XCX featuring Tove Lo and Alma – ‘Out Of My Head’

‘Out Of My Head’ is the new single from Charli XCX, taken from her forthcoming mixtape project, Pop 2. Produced by SOPHIE and A.G. Cook, the track features Tove Lo and Alma, just two of the big names expected to appear on the mixtape. The booming track is completely infectious, and we’re super excited for the rest of Charli’s project to drop in a few days time.

G-Eazy featuring Charlie Puth – ‘Sober’

‘Sober’ is the latest track to be released from G-Eazy’s forthcoming double album and short film, The Beautiful & Damned. Teaming up with Charlie Puth, the track works perfectly thanks to G-Eazy’s captivating rapping and Puth’s golden vocals. G-Eazy’s album drops on Friday (December 15).

Don Benjamin featuring Liane V – ‘No One’

Rapper and model Don Benjamin is back with a new track called ‘No One’ which sees him team up with his singer/model/actress/fashonista girlfriend Liane V. The track has a slick RnB vibe, combining Don’s electric rapping and Liane’s smooth vocals. We hope to hear more from this gorgeous pair soon.


Sister duo Lauren and Georgia Morgan, aka BLESSED, have released their brand new EP Howlin. Made up of four tracks, the EP showcases the pair’s eclectic sound. Speaking about the new EP, BLESSED said: “We are so excited to be releasing this EP. We feel we are growing with our music and sound and this little body of work really reflects this for us. ‘Fire It Up’ is that feeling where you want the person you’re with to be more assertive, take the lead but also to loosen up with you and have fun. This was actually one of the first songs we ever wrote together, so it’s our little baby we’ve been dying to release. We love the acoustic version of ‘See Through All The Colours’ as it shows a vulnerable and rawer side to the song in comparison to the heavier dance based original. Being able to do this has given us a new love for this song.”

George Kwali – ‘When It Breaks’ (Denney remix)

Last month, George Kwali released his magnetic new single ‘When It Breaks’. After drawing praise from the likes of Clash and MTV, the track has now been given a new lease of life thanks to a remix from Denney. Speaking about the track, George said: “I just wanted to make a big, rolling marching brass record that would sound great in the club. I hope people enjoy it as intended. I’m excited for people to finally hear new music.”

Wingtip featuring Youngr – ‘Space For Us’

Electronic music artist Wingtip, aka Nicholas Perloff-Giles, is back with his new single ‘Space For Us’ which features Youngr. Speaking about the track, Wingtip said “This is my first song since ‘Rewind’ I wrote on my own – it was a really cool experience to step back from the world of co-writes and explore expressing exclusively a perspective of my own. Hearing Youngr take the words I just had in my head and give them so much life and punch was amazing – I owe him a ton for making this song what it is.” Youngr added, “I heard this song and instantly fell in love with the groove and the emotion in it all. And of course, the bass slapping. Anything with bass slapping, I’m IN. I recorded some extra live drums and a few guitar licks, sent them back to the main man and he made them sound delicious. Super excited about this record coming out, it’ll be my first official feature.”

Kayobe featuing Olive B. – ‘Sun Don’t Shine’

‘Sun Don’t Shine’ is the haunting new offering from Kayobe. Teaming up with Olive B., the track was inspired by minimal dark electronic and hip hop influences. Speaking about the song, Kayobe said: “After I came up with the beat I met and connected with Olive B. We went through a bunch of beats and ideas the first time we met up. ‘Sun Don’t Shine’ really grabbed her attention so it was the first thing we decided to collaborate on. We wrote the lyrics on the track and her voice ended up being an incredible fit for the style of the song; her character really soared over the minimal nature of the beat.”

DNTST featuring Dave Thomas Junior and Emma Sameth – ‘One Sided’

California-based electronic producer DNTST may be fairly elusive, but even studying for his second year at dental school isn’t stopping him from releasing new bops. ‘One Sided’ is his latest release, which sees him team up with singer-songwriters Dave Thomas Junior and Emma Sameth. On the subject of the song, Dave said: “It’s a song about misunderstanding.. I like to think there’s a thread of hope there. It’s about how things aren’t how they seem. Sometimes it can feel like you’re giving everything to someone and not getting anything in return, and the other person is thinking exactly the same thing. So it’s a song about misunderstanding and expression. We’ve got to talk and listen more!”.

What was your favourite new music release this week? Let us know on Twitter @CelebMix

Written by Katrina Rees

I'm Katrina, or Kat to pretty much everyone. I'm an editor for CelebMix, a content writer, a boyband lover and an all round music fanatic.
Twitter: @lifeofkatrina