Recap of the 2016 Streamy Awards and Full List of Winners

Earlier this evening, King Bach hosted the 6th Annual Streamy Awards, a celebration of the latest and greatest in online video and a night to honour and recognize the creators behind it. The event was livestreamed on YouTube and available to watch anywhere in the world. It was a fun evening full of familiar faces from all corners of the Internet!

King Bach opened the show with a comedic monologue and a 360 photo of the audience taken by Casey Neistat. He also recognized the fact that he is the first black host of the Streamys! King Bach then introduced the iconic Joanne the Scammer, who ensured each Streamy Award was safely handed to the winner.

Later in the show, Shane Dawson introduced an emotional tribute to Christina Grimmie, who was tragically shot and killed at a fan meetup this past June. Christina started her music career by posting covers on YouTube, and made many friends within the community along the way, including Shane. Kurt Hugo Schneider and Sam Tsui then performed a beautiful rendition of Christina’s song With Love.

Without further ado, here is the complete list of all of the winners of the 2016 6th Annual Streamy Awards!

Entertainer of the Year

Yousef Erakat

Show of the Year

The Philip DeFranco Show



Instant Breakout Creator

Liza Koshy


Good Mythical Morning


I Ship It


A Trip To Unicorn Island

First Person

Casey Neistat


Brooklyn Sound




The Try Guys

Virtual Reality and 360

MatPat’s Game Lab

Action or Sci-Fi

Day 5


Kandee Johnson

Documentary or Investigative

The Banker Suicides


Amanda Steele


Tiny Kitchen


The Game Theorists

Health and Wellness

Yoga With Adriene

Kids and Family

Kid President


GloZell Green

News and Culture

The Philip DeFranco Show


Roman Atwood

Science or Education

Laci Green


30 for 30 Shorts


Chris Kendall, Oscar’s Hotel For Fantastical Creatures


Jennifer McAllister, Foursome


Various Creators, Jimmy Kimmel Live (Mean Tweets- Creator Edition)


Dominic “D-Trix” Sandoval

Ensemble Cast

Escape the Night

Breakthrough Artist

Todrick Hall

Cover Song

Lindsey Stirling, Hallelujah (Leonard Cohen)

Original Song

$ave Dat Money, Lil Dicky, featuring Fetty Wap and Rich Homie Quan


The Slow Mo Guys, Gavin Free and Daniel Gruchy

Costume Design

Oscar’s Hotel for Fantastical Creatures, Gypsy Taylor


Oscar’s Hotel for Fantastical Creatures, PJ Ligouri


Casey Neistat, Casey Neistat

Visual and Special Effects

Corridor Digital, Sam Gorski, Niko Pueringer, and Jake Watson


Honest Trailers, Spencer Gilbert, Joe Starr, Dan Murrell, and Andy Signore


Merrell Twins

Snapchat Storyteller

Shaun McBride (shonduras)


Thomas Sanders

Brand Campaign

Writing with Grace, Grace Helbig (AT&T)

Social Good Campaign

Lilly Singh’s #GirlLove Challenge

Congratulations to all of the winners and nominees- all was well deserved! For red carpet pictures and more exclusive behind-the-scenes content, visit the Streamy Awards website. There are also videos from tonight’s show posted on their official YouTube channel. GIPHY has partnered with the Streamy Awards to make a load of GIFs out of tonight’s footage, which can be found here.

Which winners were you most excited about for taking home a Streamy Award? Let us know on Twitter @CelebMix.

Written by Annemarie Cutruzzola

Canadian arts & culture writer and journalism student.