Sweden To Send Robin Bengtsson To Eurovision 2017 With “I Can’t Go On”

One of the biggest national selections in the world; Melodifestivalen 2017 was highly competitive. It crowned Robin Bengtsson with “I Can’t Go On” as Sweden’s Eurovision 2017 representative. He will be jetting off to Kyiv, Ukraine, in May.

He started his musical career in 2008; where he came third in the fifth season of Swedish Idol. As well as that, he also took part in many other TV shows including the Swedish version of Wipeout, where he came second. In 2016 he took part in Melodifestivalen 2016, placing fifth with his song “Constellation Prize”.

It was a tough competition, with 28 entries that were split into four semi-finals. Of the entries, was 1999 Eurovision winner Charlotte Perrelli, and 2012 Eurovision winner Loreen. The two winners didn’t make it to the final, which consisted of 12 acts. The winner was decided by 50/50 international juries and televote split.

Robin Bengtsson came out on top, even beating Wiktoria’s “As I Lay Me Down”, which is currently at number three on the Swedish charts Sverigetopplistan. Instead, she came sixth overall. In second place was Nano with “Hold On”, and in third place was Jon Henrik Fjällgren feat. Aninia with “En värld full av strider (Eatneme gusnie jeenh dåaroeh)”

Watch Eurovision’s Robin Bengtsson Perform “I Can’t Go On” Here:

The staging for this song at Melodifestivalen 2017 might have given us a bit of an insight into what we are to expect from Robin Bengtsson this year, at Eurovision.

This has a good shot of winning if the staging is bigger and better than in the national selection. The song is completely catchy, and Robin Bengtsson will surely get votes for his good looks too.

With under two months to go, many countries have selected their acts for this year’s contest. These are the acts who have been announced so far: Cyprus’ HovigThe Netherlands’ O’G3NEBelgium’s BlancheMacedonia’s Jana BurceskaAzerbaijan’s DiHaj, Ireland’s Brendan MurrayAustria’s Nathan TrentAlbania’s LinditaArmenia’s ArtsvikMontenegro’s Slavko KalezicGreece’s Demy, Georgia’s Tako GachechiladzeBelarus’ NaviThe United Kingdom’s Lucie JonesFinland’s Norma JohnSwitzerland’s Timebelle, Germany’s Levina, France’s Alma, Spain’s Manel NavarroItaly’s Francesco GabbaniIsrael’s Imri Ziv, Czech Republic’s Martina BártaCroatia’s Jacques HoudekMalta’s Claudia FanielloPoland’s Kasia MosHungary’s Joci Pápai, Slovenia’s Omar NaberDenmark’s Anja NissenMoldova’s SunStroke ProjectUkraine’s O.TorvaldLatvia’s Triana ParkSerbia’s Tijana BogicevicEstonia’s Koit Toome & LauraRomania’s Ilinca feat. Alex Florea, Portugal’s Salvador SobralAustralia’s IsaiahLithuania’s FusedmarcNorway’s Jowst, and Iceland’s Svala.

The Eurovision Song Contest 2017 will be hosted at the International Exhibition Centre in Kyiv, Ukraine after Jamala won last year with “1944”. The semi-finals will take place on 9 May and 11 May, with the Grand Final taking place on 13 May 2017.

What do you make of Robin Bengtsson with “I Can’t Go On”? Can Sweden win the Eurovision Song Contest 2017? Let us know all your thoughts on Twitter @CelebMix.

Written by Jonathan Currinn

29-year-old writer, blogger, author, and journalist. Graduated from Staffordshire University in 2015. I write under the name Critic Jonni, on my blog. I also write for Fuzzable. In the past, I have written for the Daily Star, Channillo, Outlet Magazine, SPECTRUMM, Fox & Squirrel Photography, Modern Magazine, and Electric Mode. Follow me on all socials under the handle: @CriticJonni. Email me at jonathancurrinn@gmail.com also, if you want, you can buy me a virtual coffee: https://ko-fi.com/jonathancurrinn