tove lo

Tove Lo releases ‘Bad As The Boys’ featuring ALMA

Tove Lo has unveiled her new single ‘Bad As The Boys’ featuring ALMA, which is taken from her forthcoming studio album Sunshine Kitty.

‘Bad As The Boys’ is a dreamy and hypnotic summer release which sees the Swedish singer-songwriter looking back at her first girl crush which ended up in heartache. ALMA, who previously teamed up with Tove Lo on her ‘Bitches’ remix, also adds her own flavour to the song with her verse.

Speaking about the track, Tove Lo said: “‘Bad as the Boys’ is about my first summer girl crush when I was in my teens. It’s about that sting you feel in your heart when you know summer is coming to an end and so is the romance.”

“Since I’m singing about a girl I wanted another female artist on it who also likes girls; so I hit up ALMA. She really felt the song and was down to sing it with me. She has such an amazing voice and she absolutely killed it! And she’s badass.”

Check out the lyric video for ‘Bad As The Boys’ below.

‘Bad As The Boys’ is taken from Tove Lo’s highly anticipated album, Sunshine Kitty, which is due for release on September 20. The album boasts 15 tracks including collaborations with Kylie Minogue, Jax Jones, MC Zaac and Doja Cat.

Recorded between Los Angeles and Sweden, Sunshine Kitty, which is “a play on pussy power, but it’s a happy, positive way of seeing it,” is a brand new chapter for Tove Lo which is marked by a reclamation of confidence, hard-earned wisdom, more time, and a budding romance.

Speaking about the album’s title, Tove Lo said: “It ties in with the lynx. This cartoon cat (featured on the artwork) is an extension of me and part of the new music. She’s super cute, but she does stupid shit like getting in fights and getting fucked up. It’s how I feel the album sounds.”

tove lo

Sunshine Kitty Tracklist

  1. ‘Gritty Pretty’ (intro)
  2. ‘Glad He’s Gone’
  3. ‘Bad as the Boys’ (Feat. ALMA)
  4. ‘Sweettalk my Heart’
  5. ‘Stay Over’
  6. ‘Are U gonna tell her?’ (Feat. MC Zaac)
  7. ‘Jacques’ (With Jax Jones)
  8. ‘Mateo’
  9. ‘Come Undone’
  10. ‘Equally Lost’ (Feat. Doja Cat)
  11. ‘Really don’t like u’ (Feat. Kylie Minogue)
  12. ‘Shifted’
  13. ‘Mistaken’
  14. ‘Anywhere u go’
  15. ‘Sunshine Kitty’ (outro)

‘Bad As The Boys’ is available to download and stream now.

Pre-order Sunshine Kitty here.

Are you loving ‘Bad As The Boys’? Excited for Sunshine Kitty? Let us know your thoughts on Tove Lo on Twitter @CelebMix

Written by Katrina Rees

I'm Katrina, or Kat to pretty much everyone. I'm an editor for CelebMix, a content writer, a boyband lover and an all round music fanatic.
Twitter: @lifeofkatrina